The Barclays Winners and History

imageNOTE: The Barclays is now The Northern Trust. See this post.


The Barclays currently is the first leg of the PGA Tour’s FedEx Cup Playoff Series. Held this year at Ridgewood Country Club in Paramus, NJ, the tournament is open to the top 125 FedEx Cup points leaders following the Wyndham Championship the previous week. Following this tournament, the new points are allocated (five times that of a regular tournament) and the new top 100 will go on to round two at the Deutsche Bank Championship.

The Barclays began in 1967 as the Westchester Classic. It was held at the Westchester Country Club in Rye, New York from 1967 to 2007. The site was so well known that even as the sponsors changed, it was just known as “The Westchester.”

The Westchester’s traditional spot was either the week before (even years) or the week after (odd years) the US Open. It was relocated on the calendar in 2007 in the great FedEx Cup shakeup. That year, it became the first leg of the PGA TOUR’s playoffs.

In 2011, The Barclays was shortened to 54 holes ahead of Hurricane Irene. The tournament ended on Saturday, just hours before the storm hit.

Vijay Singh has won the event four times.

YearPlayerScoreTo parMarginVenue
The Barclays
2016Patrick Reed275-91 strokeBethpage State Park, Black Course
2015Jason Day261–-196 strokesPlainfield Country Club
2014Hunter Mahan270-142 strokesRidgewood Country Club
2013Adam Scott273–-111 strokeLiberty National Golf Club
2012Nick Watney274–-103 strokesBethpage State Park, Black Course
2011Dustin Johnson194 (54 holes)–-192 strokesPlainfield Country Club
2010Matt Kuchar272–-12PlayoffRidgewood Country Club
2009Heath Slocum275–-91 strokeLiberty National Golf Club
2008Vijay Singh (4)276–-8PlayoffRidgewood Country Club
2007Steve Stricker268–-162 strokesWestchester Country Club
Barclays Classic
2006Vijay Singh (3)274–-102 strokesWestchester Country Club
2005Pádraig Harrington274–-101 strokeWestchester Country Club
Buick Classic
2004Sergio García (2)272–-12PlayoffWestchester Country Club
2003Jonathan Kaye271–-13PlayoffWestchester Country Club
2002Chris Smith272–-122 strokesWestchester Country Club
2001Sergio García268–-163 strokesWestchester Country Club
2000Dennis Paulson276–-8PlayoffWestchester Country Club
1999Duffy Waldorf276–-8PlayoffWestchester Country Club
1998J. P. Hayes201 (54 holes)–-12PlayoffWestchester Country Club
1997Ernie Els (2)268–-162 strokesWestchester Country Club
1996Ernie Els271–-138 strokesWestchester Country Club
1995Vijay Singh (2)278–-6PlayoffWestchester Country Club
1994Lee Janzen268–-163 strokesWestchester Country Club
1993Vijay Singh280–-4PlayoffWestchester Country Club
1992David Frost268–-168 strokesWestchester Country Club
1991Billy Andrade273–-112 strokesWestchester Country Club
1990Hale Irwin269–-152 strokesWestchester Country Club
Manufacturers Hanover Westchester Classic
1989Wayne Grady277–-7PlayoffWestchester Country Club
1988Seve Ballesteros (2)276–-8PlayoffWestchester Country Club
1987J. C. Snead276–-8PlayoffWestchester Country Club
1986Bob Tway272–-121 strokeWestchester Country Club
1985Roger Maltbie275–-9PlayoffWestchester Country Club
1984Scott Simpson269–-155 strokesWestchester Country Club
1983Seve Ballesteros276–-82 strokesWestchester Country Club
1982Bob Gilder261–-195 strokesWestchester Country Club
1981Raymond Floyd275–91 strokeWestchester Country Club
1980Curtis Strange273–-112 strokesWestchester Country Club
1979Jack Renner277–-71 strokeWestchester Country Club
American Express Westchester Classic
1978Lee Elder274–-101 strokeWestchester Country Club
1977Andy North272–-122 strokesWestchester Country Club
1976David Graham272–-123 strokesWestchester Country Club
Westchester Classic
1975Gene Littler271–-17PlayoffWestchester Country Club
1974Johnny Miller269–-192 strokesWestchester Country Club
1973Bobby Nichols272–-16PlayoffWestchester Country Club
1972Jack Nicklaus (2)270–-183 strokesWestchester Country Club
1971Arnold Palmer270–-185 strokesWestchester Country Club
1970Bruce Crampton273–-151 strokeWestchester Country Club
1969Frank Beard275–-131 strokeWestchester Country Club
1968Julius Boros272–-161 strokeWestchester Country Club
1967Jack Nicklaus272–-161 strokeWestchester Country Club

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

2 thoughts on “The Barclays Winners and History”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading