Travelers Championship Winners and History


Travelers Championship Winners and History

A mainstay on the PGA Tour since 1952, when it was played as the Insurance City Open, the Travelers Championship currently is the second-most attended PGA Tour event.

Like so many of the older PGA Tour events, the Travelers Championship has changed names and venues several times. It began as the Insurance City Open in Hartford, Connecticut. The event was created as a fundraiser by the local Jaycees, who had failed miserably with a turtle race the previous year.

In 1967, the tournament was renamed the Greater Hartford Open, a name it would retain until 2003. From 1973 to 1988, the tournament also bore the name of song-and-dance Rat Pack member Sammy Davis, Junior. Davis often played in the pro-ams.

From 2004 – 2006, it was named the Buick Championship.

The Travelers Championship has been played in Cromwell Connecticut since 1984, and since 1991 at the TPC River Highlands. Prior to that, it usually was played at the Wethersfield Country Club. The TPC River Highlands is the former Edgewood Country Club.

The drivable par 4 #15 at TPC River Highlands.

TPC River Highlands is a par 70, 6,844 yard course.

In the past, Canon was a significant sponsor, and employees were encouraged to take vacation time the week of the tournament—presumably to volunteer.

The lowest rounds shot were 60 by Tommy Bolt in 1954 at the Wethersfield CC, and 61 by Kenny Perry (2009), Brad Faxon (2005), Phil Mickelson (2001) and Kirk Triplett (2000) at the TPC River Highlands. Billy Casper won four times, in 1963, ‘65, ‘68 and ‘73; two wins each have been recorded by Stewart Cink, Peter Jacobson, Phil Mickelson, Paul Azinger and Arnold Palmer.

Below is the complete list of past Travelers Championship winners (also, Greater Hartford Open / Insurance City Open).

PlayerScoreTo parMargin
Travelers Championship
2024Scottie Scheffler258-22playoff
2023Keegan Bradley257-233 strokes
2022Xander Schauffele261-192 strokes
2021Harris English267-13Playoff
2020Dustin Johnson261-191 stroke
2019Chez Reavie263-175 strokes
2018Bubba Watson (3)263-173 strokes
2017Jordan Spieth268-12Playoff
2016Russell Knox266-141
2015Bubba Watson (2)264−16Playoff
2014Kevin Streelman265−151 stroke
2013Ken Duke268−12Playoff
2012Marc Leishman266−141 stroke
2011Fredrik Jacobson260−201 stroke
2010Bubba Watson266−14Playoff
2009Kenny Perry258−223 strokes
2008Stewart Cink (2)262−181 stroke
2007Hunter Mahan265−15Playoff
Buick Championship
2006J. J. Henry266−143 strokes
2005Brad Faxon266−14Playoff
2004Woody Austin270−10Playoff
Greater Hartford
2003Peter Jacobsen (2)266−142 strokes
Canon Greater
Hartford Open
2002Phil Mickelson (2)266−141 stroke
2001Phil Mickelson264−161 stroke
2000Notah Begay III260−201 stroke
1999Brent Geiberger262−183 strokes
1998Olin Browne266−14Playoff
1997Stewart Cink267−131 stroke
1996D. A. Weibring270−104 strokes
1995Greg Norman267−132 strokes
1994David Frost268−121 stroke
1993Nick Price271−91 stroke
1992Lanny Wadkins274−62 strokes
1991Billy Ray Brown271−9Playoff
1990Wayne Levi267−132 strokes
1989Paul Azinger (2)267−171 stroke
Canon Sammy Davis Jr.-
Greater Hartford Open
1988Mark Brooks269−15Playoff
1987Paul Azinger269−151 stroke
1986Mac O’Grady269−15Playoff
1985Phil Blackmar271−13Playoff
Sammy Davis Jr.-
Greater Hartford Open
1984Peter Jacobsen269−152 strokes
1983Curtis Strange268−161 stroke
1982Tim Norris259−256 strokes
1981Hubert Green264−201 stroke
1980Howard Twitty266−18Playoff
1979Jerry McGee267−171 stroke
1978Rod Funseth264−204 strokes
1977Billy Kratzert265−193 strokes
1976Rik Massengale266−182 strokes
1975Don Bies267−17Playoff
1974Dave Stockton268−164 strokes
1973Billy Casper (4)264−201 stroke
Greater Hartford
Open Invitational
1972Lee Trevino269−15Playoff
1971George Archer268−16Playoff
1970Bob Murphy267−174 strokes
1969Bob Lunn268−16Playoff
1968Billy Casper (3)266−183 strokes
1967Charlie Sifford272−121 stroke
Insurance City
Open Invitational
1966Art Wall, Jr.266−182 strokes
1965Billy Casper (2)274−10Playoff
1964Ken Venturi273−111 stroke
1963Billy Casper271−131 stroke
1962Bob Goalby271−13Playoff
1961Billy Maxwell271−13Playoff
1960Arnold Palmer (2)270−14Playoff
1959Gene Littler272−121 stroke
1958Jack Burke, Jr.268−163 strokes
1957Gardner Dickinson272−122 strokes
Insurance City
1956Arnold Palmer274−10Playoff
1955Sam Snead269−157 strokes
1954Tommy Bolt271−13Playoff
1953Bob Toski269−151 stroke
1952Ted Kroll273−114 strokes

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

1 thought on “Travelers Championship Winners and History”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading