Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic Winners and History

yokohama tire lpga classicFirst played in 2009, the Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic is held on the Senator Course at the Capitol Hill location of the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail in Alabama.

The tournament’s original sponsor was Navistar International, a truck manufacturer. When Navistar failed to renew its sponsorship, the tournament was taken off the schedule for 2013.

Yokohama Tire assumed title sponsorship in 2014.

When Lexi Thompson won in 2011 at age 16, she was at the time the youngest-ever winner of an LPGA event. Lydia Ko bested that a year later when she won the 2012 Canadian Women’s Open at age fifteen.

The tournament scoring record was set in 2010 by Katherine Hull at 269 (-19).

Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic

YearChampionCountryWinning scoreTo parMargin
2015Kris Tamulis United States71-68-67-65=271−171 stroke
2014Mi Jung Hur South Korea64-70-67-66=267−214 strokes
2013No Tournament
2012Stacy Lewis United States66-70-65-69=270−182 strokes
2011Lexi Thompson United States66-68-67-70=271−175 strokes
2010Katherine Hull Australia68-67-67-67=269−191 stroke
2009Lorena Ochoa (2) Mexico66-68-66-70=270−184 strokes
2008Lorena Ochoa Mexico67-67-69-70=273−15Playoff 2
2007Maria Hjorth Sweden70-67-70-67=274−141 stroke
Yokohama Tire LPGA Classic Winners

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading