Avantha Masters Past Winners and History


Co-sanctioned by the European Tour, the Asian Tour and the Professional Golf Tour of India, the Avantha Masters was inaugurated in 2010.

The Avantha Masters original venue was the DLF Golf and Country Club in Delhi, India. It moved to Jaypee Greens Golf Club in 2013.

The field consists of 156 players, with 61 provided by The European Tour, 61 by the Asian Tour, 28 by the Professional Golf Tour of India (PGTI) and the final six allocated to sponsor’s invitations.

Interestingly, admission is free.

Padamjit Sandhu, Director of the Professional Golf Tour of India, said: “The Avantha Masters gives Indian golfers the best possible platform to test themselves against some of the world’s best golfers. Following the recent success of the likes of Jeev Milkha Singh, Gaganjeet Bhullar, Shiv Kapur, Jyoti Randhawa and SSP Chowrasia, the game of golf has never been more popular in India, and I have no doubt that the fourth edition of the Avantha Masters will again showcase India’s ability to stage a world-class tournament.”

Jaypee Greens is a 7,347 yards, par 72, and the only course in India designed by Greg Norman. The design was intended to emulate Australia’s sandbelt courses.

Jaypee Greens Golf Course, India photo jaypeegreensgolfcouse_zpsd0ed1a99.jpg

Jaypee Greens Golf Course, India

2012Jbe’ Kruger South Africa−14 (70-69-66-69=274)
2011Shiv Chowrasia India−15 (70-69-67-67=273)
2010Andrew Dodt Australia−14 (67-68-71-68=274)
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: