RR Donnelley LPGA Founders Cup Past Winners and History


The Founders Cup was established in 2011 as a tribute to the thirteen legendary founders of the LPGA: Alice Bauer, Patty Berg, Bettye Danoff, Helen Detweiler, Marlene Bauer Hagge, Helen Hicks, Opal Hill, Betty Jameson, Sally Sessions, Marilynn Smith, Shirley Spork, Louise Suggs and Babe Didriksen Zaharias.

The tournament started amid controversy over its unique format. In 2011, the players were not paid and the entire purse went to charity. Players did receive “virtual” earnings that qualified them on the LPGA’s official money list.

It probably wasn’t the best idea. The LPGA at the time was short on both tournaments and opportunities for the players to earn income and the notion of playing for free did not sit well with many.

In 2012, the tournament expanded from three days to four and real cash payouts were begun.

The tournament is played at the Wildfire Golf Club at JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa in Phoenix, Arizona. The Arnold Palmer design is a 6,583 yard par 72.

The title sponsor, RR Donnelley is a Chicago-based printing company.

A list of past winners follows:

YearChampionCountryScorePurse ($)Winner’s share
2013Stacey LewisUnited States265 (–23)1,500,000225,000
2012Yani Tseng Taiwan270 (–18)1,500,000225,000
2011Karrie Webb Australia204 (–12)1,000,000200,000

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: