Bloomfield Hills Country Club Hosting 9th GAM Super Senior Championship 

Bloomfield Hills Country Club Hosting 9th GAM Super Senior Championship 

 BLOOMFIELD HILLS – Bloomfield Hills Country Club’s recently renovated historic golf course will host some players with great history, although more recent history, in the 9th GAM Super Senior Championship Monday and Tuesday. 

  A field of 80 GAM golfers ages 65-and-over will compete in the 36-hole stroke play championship, which crowns an overall Super Senior champion and presents a Legends Division for golfers ages 70-and-over. In addition, a Grand Legend award is presented to the player over age 75 with the lowest score. 

  Bloomfield Hills CC’s course is the creation of Harry Colt dating to 1912 when a full 18 holes was complete. The private club was founded in 1909. Architects Mike DeVries and Frank Pont developed a long-term course plan in recent years and LaBar Renovations completed significant work on the course in 2021. 

  Several greens and tees were rebuilt, trees removed, new irrigation was installed, bunkers were renovated, a practice range was extended and specific work was done on some holes to re-establish the original Colt routing and style of the course. The course now plays to a maximum of 6,831 yards. 

  Garrett Campbell in the head golf professional and Paul Spencer is the superintendent. Learn more at 

  Last year at Atlas Valley Golf Club in Grand Blanc, Mike Raymond of Jackson won a final-group duel with Randy Lewis of Alma, shooting a closing 2-under 70 to a 71 by Lewis for the title. 

  Mike Fedewa of Canton, the 2007 GAM Senior Amateur Champion, topped another Canton golfer, Jerry Heiss, on the first hole of a sudden-death playoff to win the Legend’s Division. John French of Bloomfield Hills was tagged with the Grand Legend label after he shot 79 for the lowest score among golfers in the field over age 75. 

  Raymond and Fedewa are returning to defend their titles in a field that once again includes most of the top super senior players in the state and Michigan Golf Hall of Fame members Lewis, Greg Reynolds of Grand Blanc and Bill Zylstra of Dearborn Heights. 

  All but one of the former champions are in the field, including 2015 winner Terry Moore of Grand Rapids, 2016 winner John French, 2018 and 2019 winner Ian Harris of Bloomfield Hills, 2020 winner Rick Herpich of Orchard Lake and 2021 champion Ray Emsley of Davisburg. 


Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading