Blue Bay LPGA Winners and History

First played in 2014, the Blue Bay LPGA is played at the  Jian Lake Blue Bay Golf Course on Hainan Island in the People’s Republic of China.

I find it funny that the Chinese sponsor golf tournaments, when they have forbidden the game.

The tournament had a checkered start. The 2014 edition was reduced to 54 holes due to unplayable conditions. The final round was held over an extra day due to lack of daylight during the scheduled final round.


  • The tournament is co-sanctioned by the LPGA Tour and the China LPGA (CLPGA)
  • The five winners of the Blue Bay LPGA represent five countries – South Africa (Lee-Anne Pace, 2014), the Republic of Korea (Sei Young Kim, 2015), Australia (Minjee Lee, 2016), the People’s Republic of China (Shanshan Feng, 2017) and Mexico (Gabby Lopez, 2018)
  • Lee set the 18-hole scoring record of 7-under 65 in the first round of her 2016 victory; the mark was tied by Ariya Jutanugarn (third round, 2016) and Sun Young Yoo (first round, 2017)
  • Lee also holds the 72-hole scoring record of 13-under 275
  • Pace’s 2014 win was shortened to 54 holes due to heavy rain
  • Lopez (2018) joins the legendary Lorena Ochoa as the only LPGA winners from Mexico; Ochoa last won at the 2009 Navistar LPGA Classic before retiring in April 2010 with 27 LPGA Tour victories

A list of LPGA Blue Bay Winners follows:

YearChampionCountryWinning scoreTo parMargin
2019No Tournament
2018Gabby LopezMexico70-71-66-73-81 stroke
2017Shanshan FengChina69-67-73-70=279-91 stroke
2016Minjee LeeAustralia65-67-73-70=275-171 Stroke
2015Sei-Young KimSouth Korea70-72-74-70=286-21 stroke
2014Lee-Anne Pace South Africa67-66-67=200-163 strokes

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading