British Masters Winners and History

Beginning in 1946 as the Dunlop Masters, The British Masters is the descendant of the Dunlop-Metropolitan, which was first held in 1934. Coincidentally, that was the same year as the first American Masters.

Throughout its life, the British Masters has been a 72-hole end-of-season event with a restricted field. In 2019, it has moved to May.

During the 1980s the British Masters was one of the most lucrative events on the European Tour with a prize fund that was as high as third among the tournaments on the schedule

British Masters

The British Masters was suspended from 2009 to 2014 for lack of a sponsor.

The current incarnation is played at Woburn, sponsored by Sky Sports and hosted by Ian Poulter.

The 1967 event was particularly notable for providing British television with its first live hole in one, as Tony Jacklin aced the 16th hole at Royal St George’s.

A list of British Masters Winners follows:

Betfred British Masters
2023Daniel HillierThe Belfrey278 (-10)2 strokes
2022Thorbjørn OlesenThe Belfrey278 (-10)1 stroke
2021Richard BlandThe Belfrey275 (-13)Playoff
2020Renato ParatoreClose House GC266 (-18)3 strokes
2019Marcus KinhultHillside GC272 (-16)1 strokes
Sky Sports British Masters
2018Eddie PepperellWalton Heath GC279 (-9)2 strokes
British Masters supported by Sky Sports
2017Paul DunneClose House GC260 (-20)3 strokes
2016Alex NorenThe Grove266 (-18)2strokes
2015Matthew FitzpatrickWoburn G&CC269 (-15)2
2009–14: No tournament
Quinn Insurance British Masters
2008Gonzalo Fernández-CastañoThe Belfry276 (-12)Playoff
Quinn Direct British Masters
2007Lee WestwoodThe Belfry273 (-15)5 strokes
2006Johan EdforsThe Belfry277 (-11)1 stroke
Daily Telegraph Dunlop Masters
2005Thomas BjørnForest of Arden Hotel & CC282 (-6)Playoff
Daily Telegraph Damovo British Masters
2004Barry LaneForest of Arden Hotel & CC272 (-16)3 strokes
2003Greg OwenForest of Arden Hotel & CC274 (-14)3 strokes
Victor Chandler British Masters
2002Justin RoseWoburn G&CC269 (-19)1 stroke
2001Thomas LevetWoburn G&CC274 (-14)Playoff
2000Gary OrrWoburn G&CC267 (-21)2 strokes
1999Bob MayWoburn G&CC269 (-19)1 stroke
One 2 One British Masters
1998Colin MontgomerieForest of Arden Hotel & CC281 (-7)1 stroke
1997Greg TurnerForest of Arden Hotel & CC275 (-13)1 stroke
1996Robert AllenbyCollingtree Park GC284 (-4)Playoff
Collingtree British Masters
1995Sam TorranceCollingtree Park GC270 (-18)1 stroke
Dunhill British Masters
1994Ian Woosnam (2)Woburn G&CC271 (-17)4 strokes
1993Peter BakerWoburn G&CC266 (-22)7 strokes
1992Christy O’Connor JnrWoburn G&CC270 (-18)Playoff
1991Seve Ballesteros (2)Woburn G&CC275 (-13)3 strokes
1990Mark JamesWoburn G&CC270 (-18)2 strokes
1989Nick FaldoWoburn G&CC267 (-21)4 strokes
1988Sandy LyleWoburn G&CC273 (-15)2 strokes
1987Mark McNultyWoburn G&CC274 (-14)1 stroke
1986Seve BallesterosWoburn G&CC275 (-13)2 strokes
1985Lee TrevinoWoburn G&CC278 (-10)3 strokes
Silk Cut Masters
1984No tournament
1983Ian WoosnamSt. Pierre G&CC269 (-15)3 strokes
Dunlop Masters
1982Greg Norman (2)St. Pierre G&CC267 (-17)8 strokes
1981Greg NormanWoburn G&CC273 (-15)4 strokes
1980Bernhard LangerSt. Pierre G&CC270 (-14)5 strokes
1979Graham MarshWoburn G&CC283 (-5)1 stroke
1978Tommy HortonSt. Pierre G&CC279 (-5)1 stroke
1977Guy HuntLindrick GC291 (+7)Playoff
(3rd hole)
1976Baldovino DassùSt. Pierre G&CC271 (-13)1 stroke
1975Bernard Gallacher (2)Ganton GC289 (+5)2 strokes
1974Bernard GallacherSt. Pierre G&CC282 (-2)Playoff
1973Tony JacklinSt. Pierre G&CC272 (-12)7 strokes
1972Bob CharlesNorthumberland GC277 (-11)2 strokes
1971Maurice BembridgeSt. Pierre G&CC273 (-11)2 strokes
1970Brian HuggettRoyal Lytham & St Annes GC293 (+9)5 strokes
1969Cobie LegrangeLittle Aston GC2813 strokes
1968Peter Thomson (2)Sunningdale GC2745 strokes
1967Tony JacklinRoyal St George’s GC2743 strokes
1966Neil ColesLindrick GC2781 stroke
1965Bernard Hunt (2)Portmarnock GC2831 stroke
1964Cobie LegrangeRoyal Brikdale GC2881 stroke
1963Bernard HuntLittle Aston GC2824 hole playoff
1962Dai ReesWentworth Club2782 strokes
1961Peter ThomsonRoyal Porthcawl GC2848 strokes
1960Jimmy HitchcockSunningdale GC2752 strokes
1958Harry Weetman (2)Little Aston GC2764 strokes
1957Eric BrownNotts GC (Hollinwell)2753 strokes
1956Christy O’Connor SnrPrestwick GC2771 stroke
1955Harry Bradshaw (2)Little Aston GC2774 strokes
1954Bobby Locke (2)Prince’s GC2913 strokes
1953Harry BradshawSunningdale GC2723 strokes
1952Harry WeetmanMere G&CC2814 strokes
1951Max FaulknerWentworth Club2814 strokes
1950Dai ReesHoylake2814 strokes
1949Charlie WardSt Andrews29036 hole playoff
1948Norman Von NidaSunningdale GC2722 strokes
1947Arthur LeesLittle Aston GC28336 hole playoff
1946Jimmy AdamsStoneham GC286Tie
Bobby Locke

1 thought on “British Masters Winners and History”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading