Buick LPGA Shanghai Winners and History

Buick LPGA Shanghai Winners and History
Buick LPGA Shanghai Winners and History

 Buick LPGA Shanghai Winners and History

New to the LPGA in 2018 is the Buick LPGA Shanghai. It is one of two official LPGA tournaments in China, making it the only nation besides the United States to host more than one official LPGA event. The other China-based LPGA event is the Blue Bay LPGA (held on the island of Hainan).

SAIC-GM Buick has committed to sponsor the tournament for five years.

The last time the LPGA played on mainland China was the 2016 Reignwood LPGA Classic.

The field consists of 62 of the world’s top ranked players on the LPGA Money List, 15 from China Lady’s Professional Rankings and four sponsor invites. It is a no-cut event. The purse is $2.1 million USD.

Prior to the LPGA sanctioning,  from 2015-2016 (two years), the Buick Championship was played at Qizhong Garden Golf Club as a co-sanctioned event by the Ladies European Tour and the China Ladies Professional Golf Association. Shanshan Feng was the winner in both years of that event

A list of Buick Championship and Buick LPGA Shanghai Winners follows:

Buick LPGA Shanghai
2018Danielle KangUnited States275 (-13)
Buick Championship
2016Shanshan Feng (2) China274 (−14)
2015Shanshan Feng China271 (−17)
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: