Canadian Pacific Women’s Open Winners and History

Canadian Pacific LogoThe Canadian Pacific Women’s Open has been Canada’s national championship tournament since its founding in 1973. Over the years, it has been known by a variety of names:

1973: La Canadienne
1974–1983: Classique Peter Jackson Classic
1984–1987: Classique du Maurier Classic
1988–2000: du Maurier Ltd Classic, Classique du Maurier Ltée
2001–2002: Bank of Montreal Canadian Women’s Open, Omnium canadien féminin Banque de Montréal
2003–2005: BMO Financial Group Canadian Women’s Open, Omnium canadien féminin BMO Groupe financier
2006–2013: CN Canadian Women’s Open, Omnium canadien féminin CN
2014–Present: Canadian Pacific Women’s Open, Omnium féminin Canadien Pacifique

Considered one of the LPGA’s majors from 1979 to 2000, the Canadian Pacific Women’s Open was eclipsed when the LPGA decided to instead include the Women’s British Open. The Women’s British Open was a major on the Ladies European Tour and including it on the LPGA list gave the tours one common major. Today, both tours recognize the Women’s British Open and the Evian Championship. The Ladies European Tour does not sanction any of the US-based majors.

For the first six years, the tournament was 54 holes

In 2012, Lydia Ko made history by becoming the youngest winner of an LPGA Tour event. She was fifteen years, four months. She is also only the fifth amateur — and the first in more than forty years — to win an LPGA Tour event. She defended tah twin as an amateur in 2013.

A complete list of Canadian Pacific Women’s Open Winners follows:

Canadian Pacific Women's Open Winners

YearChampionCountryScoreTo parTournament Location
2017Park Sung-hyunSouth Korea271-13Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club
2016Arya JutanugarnThailand265-23Priddis Greens Golf & Country Club (Calgary, AB)
2015Lydia Ko (3) New Zealand276−12Vancouver Golf Club, (Coquitlam, BC)
2014Ryu So-yeon South Korea265−23London Hunt and Country Club (London, ON)
2013Lydia Ko (a) (2) New Zealand265−15Royal Mayfair Golf Club, (Edmonton, AB)
2012Lydia Ko (a) New Zealand275−13Vancouver Golf Club, (Coquitlam, BC)[4]
2011Brittany Lincicome United States275−13Hillsdale Golf & Country Club, (Mirabel, QC)[5]
2010Michelle Wie United States276−12St. Charles Country Club, (Winnipeg, MB)
2009Suzann Pettersen Norway269−15Priddis Greens Golf & Country Club (Calgary, AB)
2008Katherine Hull Australia277−11Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club (Ottawa, ON)
2007Lorena Ochoa Mexico268−16Royal Mayfair Golf Club (Edmonton, AB)
2006Cristie Kerr United States276−12London Hunt and Country Club (London, ON)
2005Meena Lee South Korea279−9Glen Arbour Golf Course (Halifax, NS)
2004Meg Mallon (3) United States270−18Legends on the Niagara (Niagara Falls, ON)
2003Beth Daniel United States276−13Point Grey Golf & Country Club (Vancouver, BC)
2002Meg Mallon (2) United States284−4Summerlea Golf and Country Club (Montreal, QC)
2001Annika Sörenstam Sweden272−16Angus Glen Golf Club (Markham, ON)
2000Meg Mallon United States282−6Royal Ottawa Golf Club (Gatineau, QC)
1999Karrie Webb Australia277−11Priddis Greens Golf & Country Club (Calgary, AB)
1998Brandie Burton (2) United States270−18Essex Golf & Country Club (Windsor, ON)
1997Colleen Walker United States278−14Glen Abbey Golf Course (Oakville, ON)
1996Laura Davies England277−11Edmonton Country Club (Edmonton, AB)
1995Jenny Lidback Peru/Sweden280−8Beaconsfield Golf Club (Beaconsfield, QC)
1994Martha Nause United States279−9Ottawa Hunt and Golf Club (Ottawa, ON)
1993Brandie Burton United States277−11POLondon Hunt Club (London, ON)
1992Sherri Steinhauer United States277−11St. Charles Country Club (Winnipeg, MB)
1991Nancy Scranton United States279−9Vancouver Golf Club (Coquitlam, BC)
1990Cathy Johnston United States276−16Westmount Golf and Country Club (Kitchener, ON)
1989Tammie Green United States279−9Beaconsfield Golf Club (Beaconsfield, QC)
1988Sally Little United States279−9Vancouver Golf Club (Coquitlam, BC)
1987Jody Rosenthal United States272−16Islesmere Golf Club (Laval, QC)
1986Pat Bradley (3) United States276−12POBoard of Trade Country Club (Woodbridge, ON)
1985Pat Bradley (2) United States278−10Beaconsfield Golf Club (Beaconsfield, QC)
1984Juli Inkster United States279−9St. George's Golf and Country Club (Toronto, ON)
1983Hollis Stacy United States277−11Beaconsfield Golf Club (Beaconsfield, QC)
1982Sandra Haynie United States280−8St. George's Golf and Country Club (Toronto, ON)
1981Jan Stephenson Australia278−10Summerlea Golf & Country Club (Vaudreuil-Dorion, QC)
1980Pat Bradley United States277−15St. George's Golf and Country Club (Toronto, ON)
1979Amy Alcott United States285−7Richelieu Valley Golf Club (Sainte-Julie, QC)
1978JoAnne Carner (2) United States278−14St. George's Golf and Country Club
1977Judy Rankin United States212−4Lachute Golf Club
1976Donna Caponi United States212−4POCedar Brae Golf & Country Club
1975JoAnne Carner United States214−5POSt. George's Golf and Country Club
1974Carole Jo Skala United States208−11Candiac Golf Club
1973Jocelyne Bourassa Canada214−5POMontreal Municipal Golf Club
Past Winners of the Canadian Pacific Women's Open
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: