Cognizant Founders Cup Winners and History

Founders Cup Winners

Founders Cup Winners and History

The Founders Cup now is sponsored by Cognizant, a multi-national consulting and technology firm.

Established in 2011, the Founders Cup is designed as a tribute to the thirteen legendary founders of the LPGA: Alice Bauer, Patty Berg, Bettye Danoff, Helen Detweiler, Marlene Bauer Hagge, Helen Hicks, Opal Hill, Betty Jameson, Sally Sessions, Marilynn Smith, Shirley Spork, Louise Suggs and Babe Didriksen Zaharias.

Of those, as of this writing, Spork and Hagge are the only founders still with us.

The tournament did not have a good start. IIn 2011, the players were not paid and the entire purse went to charity. Players did receive “virtual” earnings that qualified them on the LPGA’s official money list.

As you can imagine that did not go over well. The LPGA at the time was in dire straits and was short on both tournaments and opportunities for the players to earn income.

In 2012, the tournament expanded from three days to four and players were paid.

In 2013, JTBC replaced R.R. Donnelley as sponsor of the LPGA’s Founder’s Cup. From 2017 to 2019, the title sponsor was Bank of Hope.

The 2021 edition will be played at the Mountain Ridge Golf Club in West Caldwell, New Jersey.

A list of past Founders Cup winners follows:

2022Minjee Lee269 (-19)2 strokes
2021Ko Jin-Young266 (-18)4 Strokes
2019Ko Jin-Young266 (-22)1 strokes
2018Inbee Park269 (–19)5 strokes
2017Anna Nordqvist263 (–25)2 strokes
2016Kim Sei-young261 (–27)5 strokes
2015Kim Hyo-Joo267 (–21)3 strokes
2014Karrie Webb269 (–19)1 strokes
2013Stacey Lewis265 (–23)3 strokes
2012Yani Tseng270 (–18)1 strokes
2011Karrie Webb204 (–12)1 strokes
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: