Dubai World Championship Past Winners and History


Held for the first time in November 2009, the Dubai World Championship is the concluding event of the European Tour’s “Race to Dubai,” which is the equivalent of the PGA Tour’s “FedEx Cup Championship (and, incidentally, both of which apparently copied NASCAR’s Sprint Cup series.). The Race to Dubai replaced the old “Order of Merit” (money list).

The event is held at the Jumeirah Golf Estates in Dubai, United Arab Emirates, where the golf is played on the Greg Norman designed “Earth Course.” The championship features the leading 60 European Tour money winners following the Hong Kong Open.

Originally the tournament was to have a record prize fund of $10,000,000, of which the winner’s share would be $1,666,660. However in September 2009 it was announced that there would be a 25% reduction in both the overall prize fund and the winners share.

Past winners follow:

YearWinnerCountryScoreMargin of victoryRunner(s)-up
2010Robert Karlsson Sweden274 (−14)Playoff (2nd hole)Ian Poulter
2009Lee Westwood England265 (−23)6 strokesRoss McGowan

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading