Farmers Insurance Open Winners and History

Farmers Insurance Open Winners and History

Farmers Insurance Open Winners and History

The Farmers Insurance Open is one of a triumvirate of tournaments on the West Coast Swing once associated with Hollywood Royalty—Bob Hope, Andy Williams and Bing Crosby. Crosby’s Clambake now is the AT&T National Pro-Am, the Hope is now the “Career Builder-Clinton,” and Andy Williams’ tournament now is the Farmers Insurance Open.

Farmers Insurance Open Winners and History
Andy Williams on his television show in 1969.

Crooner Andy Williams (Born Free, Moon River) was the celebrity host of the tournament from 1968 to 1988, under a variety of sponsor names. Before that, the event was the San Diego Open.

Williams’ immense popularity helped to cement the San Diego Open / Andy Williams Open / Farmers Insurance Open on the golf schedule. Prior to Williams lending his name to the tournament, the San Diego Open moved around quite a bit. Once Williams was associated with it however, it landed at Torrey Pines, where it remains to this day.

Williams had 18 gold and 2 platinum records. His television variety show ran from 1962 to 1971. He hosted the Grammy awards show a record 13 times. Williams, a lifelong golfer, died in 2012 at age 84.

Embed from Getty Images

The San Diego Open was played at the San Diego Country Club from 1952 – 1953, then moved to the Rancho Sana Fe Club in Rancho Santa Fe, California. It moved to Mission Valley Country Club in 1955, and stayed there until 1961, with a one year stop over at the Singing Hills Country Club in El Cajon, California. It’s also been played at the Mission Valley Country Club (which subsequently changed its name to the Stardust Country Club and then to the Riverwalk Golf Club.).

The tournament moved to Torrey Pines in 1968, and has stayed there ever since. There actually are two courses at Torrey Pines, and the first 36 holes are split between the North and South Courses. The weekend rounds are played on the South.

Buick became the tournament’s sponsor in 1992 and continued in that role until 2009, when the auto industry meltdown and subsequent government bailout of GM made sponsoring a golf tournament unseemly. Farmers Insurance stepped up and became the sponsor in 2010.

As an aside, when I played Torrey Pines a couple of years ago, the locals told me that they thought the North was actually the better of the two for amateurs—and prettier. I played the South anyway.

During his career, Tiger Woods absolutely owned the tournament, having won a record seven times there: 1999, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2013. That doesn’t include his epic 2008 US Open victory at Torrey Pines. Native son Phil Mickelson has won there three times: 1993, 2000 and 2001. Two Time winners include Tommy Bolt, Arnold Palmer, Steve Pate, JC Snead and Tom Watson.

A list of Farmers Insurance Open Winners follows:

YearPlayerScoreTo parMargin
Farmers Insurance
2023Max Homa275-132 shots
2022Luke List273-15Playoff
2021Patrick Reed274-155 strokes
2020Marc Leishman273-151 stroke
2019Justin Rose267-212 strokes
2018Jason Day (2)278−10Playoff
2017Jon Rahm275−133 strokes
2016Brandt Snedeker (2)282−61 stroke
2015Jason Day279−9Playoff
2014Scott Stallings279−91 stroke
2013Tiger Woods (7)274−144 strokes
2012Brandt Snedeker272−16Playoff
2011Bubba Watson272−161 stroke
2010Ben Crane275−131 stroke
Buick Invitational
2009Nick Watney277−111 stroke
2008Tiger Woods (6)269−198 strokes
2007Tiger Woods (5)273−152 strokes
2006Tiger Woods (4)278−10Playoff
2005Tiger Woods (3)272−163 strokes
2004John Daly278−10Playoff
2003Tiger Woods (2)272−164 strokes
2002José María
275−131 stroke
2001Phil Mickelson (3)269−19Playoff
2000Phil Mickelson (2)270−184 strokes
1999Tiger Woods266−222 strokes
1998Scott Simpson204*−12Playoff
1997Mark O’Meara275−132 strokes
1996Davis Love III269−192 strokes
Buick Invitational
of California
1995Peter Jacobsen269−194 strokes
1994Craig Stadler268−201 stroke
1993Phil Mickelson278−104 strokes
1992Steve Pate (2)200*−161 stroke
Shearson Lehman
Brothers Open
1991Jay Don Blake268−202 strokes
Shearson Lehman
Hutton Open
1990Dan Forsman275−132 strokes
1989Greg Twiggs271−172 strokes
Shearson Lehman
Andy Williams Open
1988Steve Pate269−191 stroke
Shearson Lehman
Andy Williams Open
1987George Burns266−224 strokes
1986Bob Tway204*−12Playoff
Isuzu-Andy Williams
San Diego Open
1985Woody Blackburn269−19Playoff
1984Gary Koch272−16Playoff
1983Gary Hallberg271−171 stroke
Wickes-Andy Williams
San Diego Open
1982Johnny Miller270−181 stroke
1981Bruce Lietzke278−10Playoff
Andy Williams-
San Diego Open Invitational
1980Tom Watson (2)275−13Playoff
1979Fuzzy Zoeller282−65 strokes
1978Jay Haas278−103 strokes
1977Tom Watson269−195 strokes
1976J. C. Snead (2)272−161 stroke
1975J. C. Snead279−9Playoff
1974Bobby Nichols275−131 stroke
1973Bob Dickson278−101 stroke
1972Paul Harney275−131 stroke
1971George Archer272−163 strokes
1970Pete Brown275−13Playoff
1969Jack Nicklaus284−41 stroke
1968Tom Weiskopf273−151 stroke
San Diego Open Invitational
1967Bob Goalby269−151 stroke
1966Billy Casper268−164 strokes
1965Wes Ellis267−17Playoff
1964Art Wall, Jr.274−62 strokes
1963Gary Player270−141 stroke
1962Tommy Jacobs277−7Playoff
1961Arnold Palmer (2)271−131 stroke
1960Mike Souchak269−191 stroke
1959Marty Furgol274−141 stroke
1958No toury
– moved from Nov.
to Jan.
1957Arnold Palmer271−171 stroke
San Diego Open
1956Bob Rosburg270−182 strokes
1955Tommy Bolt (2)274−142 strokes
San Diego Open
1954Gene Littler (a)274−144 strokes
1953Tommy Bolt274−143 strokes
1952Ted Kroll276−123 strokes
* 54 holes

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: