Indian Open Winners And History

Indian Open Winners

The Indian Open first was played in 1964. The current sponsor is Hero, an Indian manufacturer of motorcycles and scooters.

The Indian Open was the brainchild of Australia’s Peter Thomson, who realized India’s potential for golf growth. Thomson frequently played in India and was able to persuade the Indian Golf Union to establish the Indian Open. Thomson won that inaugural event, and went on again to win in 1966 and 1976. his three wins were equaled by Jyoti Randhawa in 2007.

The Indian Open has been part of the Asia Golf tour since 1970. It becomes an official European Tour event in 2015, and thus part of the Race To Dubai.

Payne Stewart won in 1981.

India’s first native winner also was the tournament’s only amateur champion: Prem Gopal Sethi, who won in 1965.

Hero dates to 1956, when it was started as Hero Cycles by two brothers, Dr. Brijmohan Lall Munjal and Pawan Munja. By 1975, it was the largest bicycle manufacturer in India. In 1983, the company signed a joint agreement with Honda of Japan, becoming Hero-Honda. That agreement ended in 2010, and the Hero Group has subsequently purchased Honda’s shares.

Hero Motocorp is currently the largest motorcycle and scooter manufacturer in the world. he company has been the sponsor of the Indian Open Golf Tournament since 2005. It also sponsors field hockey and cricket tournaments. They make an impressive line of scooters. I’d love to have one of these to buzz around town:


The complete list of Indian Open winners follows:

2023Marcel SiemGermany274 (-14)DLF Club
2019Stephen GallacherScotland279 (-9)DLF Club
2018Matt WallaceEngland277 (-11)DLF Club
2017Shiv Chawrasia (2)India278 (-10)DLF Club
2016Shiv ChawrasiaIndia273 (-15)Delhi Golf Club
2015Anirban LahiriIndia277 (-7)Delhi Golf Club
2014Tournament canceled
2013Mohammad Siddikur Bangladesh274Delhi Golf Club
2012Thaworn Wiratchant Thailand270Karnataka Golf Association
2011David Gleeson Australia268Delhi Golf Club
2010Rikard Karlberg Sweden277Delhi Golf Club
2009Chinnaswamy Muniyappa India276DLF Golf and Country Club
2008Liang Wen-Chong China272Delhi Golf Club
2007Jyoti Randhawa India275Delhi Golf Club
2006Jyoti Randhawa India270Delhi Golf Club
2005Thaworn Wiratchant Thailand272Delhi Golf Club
2004Mardan Mamat Singapore270Delhi Golf Club
2003Mike Cunning United States270Delhi Golf Club
2002Vijay Kumar India275Delhi Golf Club
2001Thongchai Jaidee Thailand271Classic Golf Resort, Gurgaon
2000Jyoti Randhawa India273Classic Golf Resort, Gurgaon
1999Arjun Atwal India276Royal Calcutta Golf Club
1998Firoz Ali India274Royal Calcutta Golf Club
1997Ed Fryatt England272Royal Calcutta Golf Club
1996Hidezumi Shirakata Japan277Royal Calcutta Golf Club
1995Jim Rutledge Canada280Delhi Golf Club
1994Emlyn Aubrey United States285Royal Calcutta Golf Club
1993Ali Sher India288Delhi Golf Club
1992Stewart Ginn Australia284Royal Calcutta Golf Club
1991Ali Sher India283Delhi Golf Club
1990Andrew Debusk United States288Royal Calcutta Golf Club
1989Remi Bouchard Canada279Delhi Golf Club
1988Lu Chien-soon Taiwan281Royal Calcutta Golf Club
1987Brian Tennyson United States280Delhi Golf Club
1986Lu Hsi-chuen Taiwan279Royal Calcutta Golf Club
1985Tony Grimes New Zealand279Delhi Golf Club
1984Rafael Alarcon Mexico279Royal Calcutta Golf Club
1983Junichi Takahashi Japan285Delhi Golf Club
1982Hsu Sheng-san Taiwan277Royal Calcutta Golf Club
1981Payne Stewart United States284Delhi Golf Club
1980Kurt Cox United States286Royal Calcutta Golf Club
1979Gaylord Burrows United States284Delhi Golf Club
1978Bill Brask United States284Royal Calcutta Golf Club
1977Brian Jones Australia284Delhi Golf Club
1976Peter Thomson Australia288Royal Calcutta Golf Club
1975Ted Ball Australia282Delhi Golf Club
1974Kuo Chie-Hsiung Taiwan287Royal Calcutta Golf Club
1973Graham Marsh Australia280Delhi Golf Club
1972Brian Jones Australia282Delhi Golf Club
1971Graham Marsh Australia275Delhi Golf Club
1970Chen Chien Chung Taiwan279Royal Calcutta Golf Club
1969Ben Arda Philippines291Royal Calcutta Golf Club
1968Kenji Hosoishi Japan285Delhi Golf Club
1967Kenji Hosoishi Japan287Royal Calcutta Golf Club
1966Peter Thomson Australia284Delhi Golf Club
1965P.G. Sethi (amateur) India282Royal Calcutta Golf Club
1964Peter Thomson Australia292Delhi Golf Club

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: