ISPS Handa Championship Winners and History

ISPS Handa Championship Winners and History

The ISPS Handa Championship is a co-sanctioned event between the DP World Tour and the Japan Golf Tour.

The inaugural event was supposed to take place in 2022. Pandemic restrictions, however, led to the European Tour not participating in Japan and instead playing the ISPS Handa Championship in Spain instead.

The event returns to Japan as a co-sanctioned event in 2023.

It is the first event co-sponsored by the two tours. Japan becomes the 51st different country to host a DP World Tour tournament.

The tournament is held at PGM Ishioka Club in Omitama, Japan.

ISPS Handa is the International Sports Promotion Society, founded and funded by Japanese philanthropist Dr. Haruhisa Handa in 2006. Its goal is to support charitable causes throughout the sporting world and has fostered partnerships with golf governing bodies worldwide to help develop the game at every level and promote blind and disabled golf.

Dr. Handa is an interesting character. Born in 1951, he operates more than a dozen companies in Japan, Australia and the United Kingdom. He has degrees in economics, vocal music, creative arts and literature. As you might expect, he is an author, who has written more than 220 books that have been translated into seven languages. Some of the best sellers include “Secrets for running a Small Business”, “Understanding Japan” and “Lucky Fortune” – of which more than a million copies have been sold.

The list of ISPS Handa Championship Winners follows:

YearToursWinnerScoreTo ParMargin
2023DPWT, JapanLucas Herbert26515Playoff
2022JapanYuto Katsuragawa260-241 stroke

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading