Italian Open Winners and History

The Italian Open is one of the oldest events in Europe, extending back to 1925. It has been a fixture on the European Tour since the Tour’s inception inception in 1972.

There are some interesting winners on the Italian Open list. Billy Casper won there in 1975. David Feherty won in 1986. Greg Norman won in 1988. Other winners of note include Henry Cotton, Peter Alliss, Peter Thompson, Bernhard Langer and Sam Torrance.

In 1949 an Egyptian named Hassan Hassanein won the event. I would not be surprised if he is the only Egyptian to have won a significant golf event outside his own country. In 1949, Hassanein won the Desert Open, Egyptian Open and Italian Open. He won the French Open in 1951. Sadly, he died in 1957 at the age of forty when his kerosene cook stove exploded.

A complete list of Italian Open winners follows:

YearWinnerCountryScoreTo parMargin
DS Automobiles Italian Open
2023Adrian MeronkPoland271-131 stroke
2022Robert McIntyreScotland270-14Playoff
2021Nicolai HojgaardDenmark271-131 stroke
Open d’Italia presented by Damiani
2020Ross McGowanEngland268-201 stroke
2019Bernd WiesbergerAustria268-161 stroke
2018Thorbjorn OlesenDenmark262-221 stroke
2017Tyrell HattonEngland263-211 stroke
2016Francesco Molinari (2) Italy262−221 stroke
2015Rikard Karlberg Sweden269−19Playoff
2014Hennie Otto (2) South Africa268−202 strokes
Open d’Italia Lindt
2013Julien Quesne France276−121 stroke
BMW Italian Open
2012Gonzalo Fernández-Castaño (2) Spain264−242 strokes
2011Robert Rock England267−211 stroke
2010Fredrik Andersson Hed Sweden268−162 strokes
2009Daniel Vancsik Argentina267−176 strokes
Methorios Capital Italian Open
2008Hennie Otto South Africa263−251 stroke
Telecom Italia Open
2007Gonzalo Fernández-Castaño Spain200 (3 rounds)−16Playoff
2006Francesco Molinari Italy265−234 strokes
2005Steve Webster England270−183 strokes
2004Graeme McDowell Northern Ireland197*−19Playoff
Italian Open Telecom Italia
2003Mathias Grönberg Sweden271−172 strokes
2002Ian Poulter (2) England197 (3 rounds)−192 strokes
Atlanet Italian Open
2001Grégory Havret France268−201 stroke
Italian Open
2000Ian Poulter England267−211 stroke
Fiat and Fila Italian Open
1999Dean Robertson Scotland271−171 stroke
Italian Open
1998Patrik Sjöland Sweden195 (3 rounds)−213 strokes
Conte of Florence Italian Open
1997Bernhard Langer (2) Germany273−151 stroke
1996Jim Payne England275−91 stroke
Italian Open
1995Sam Torrance (2) Scotland269−192 strokes
Tisettanta Italian Open
1994Eduardo Romero Argentina272−161 stroke
Lancia Martini Italian Open
1993Greg Turner New Zealand267−211 stroke
1992Sandy Lyle (2) Scotland270−181 stroke
1991Craig Parry Australia279−91 stroke
1990Richard Boxall England267−215 strokes
Lancia Italian Open
1989Ronan Rafferty Northern Ireland273−151 stroke
1988Greg Norman Australia270−181 stroke
1987Sam Torrance Scotland271−17Playoff
Italian Open
1986David Feherty Northern Ireland270−10Playoff
1985Manuel Piñero Spain267−211 stroke
1984Sandy Lyle Scotland277−114 strokes
1983Bernhard Langer West Germany271−17Playoff
1982Mark James England280−83 strokes
1981José Maria Cañizares Spain280−8Playoff
1980Massimo Mannelli Italy276−81 stroke
1979Brian Barnes Scotland281−7Playoff
1978Dale Hayes South Africa29353 strokes
1977Ángel Gallardo Spain286−2Playoff
1976Baldovino Dassù Italy280−88 strokes
1975Billy Casper United States286−21 stroke
1974Peter Oosterhuis England249 (1st rnd was 9 holes)2 strokes
1973Tony Jacklin England284−41 stroke
1972Norman Wood Scotland271−12 strokes
Prior To
1971Ramón Sota Spain282 (−2)4 strokes
1961-70: No tournament
1960Brian Wilkes South Africa2852 strokes
1959Peter Thomson Australia2691 stroke
1958Peter Alliss England28210 strokes
1957Harold Henning South Africa2733 strokes
1956Antonio Cerdá Argentina284Playoff
1955Flory Van Donck (4) Belgium287
1954Ugo Grappasonni (2) Italy272Playoff
1953Flory Van Donck (3) Belgium2696 strokes
1952Eric Brown Scotland2736 strokes
1951Jimmy Adams Scotland2831 stroke
1950Ugo Grappasonni Italy281Playoff
1949Hassan Hassanein Egypt271
1948Aldo Casera Italy267
1947Flory Van Donck (2) Belgium263
1939–46: No tournament due to World War II
1938Flory Van Donck Belgium276
1937Marcel Dallemagne France276
1936Henry Cotton England2686 strokes
1935Percy Alliss (2) England2625 strokes
1934N. Nutley England132
1933: No tournament
1932Aubrey Boomer Jersey143
1931Auguste Boyer (4) France141
1930Auguste Boyer (3) France140
1929René Golias France143
1928Auguste Boyer (2) France1451 stroke
1927Percy Alliss England145Playoff
1926Auguste Boyer France147
1925Francesco Pasquali Italy1541 stroke

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading