Masters Winners 1934 – Present

Masters Winners 1934 - Present

Masters Winners 1934 – Present

Here’s an updated list of Masters winners, with the names of the tournament winners, their country of origin, their victory in relation to par, and their margin of victory. Par for Augusta National is 72, so four rounds at par is 288.

The first Masters winner was Horton Smith, in 1936. Smith also won in 1938.

Jack Nicklaus holds the record for most wins, with six. Tiger has five. Arnold Palmer won four. Jimmy Demaret, Sam Snead, Gary Player , Nick Faldo and Phil Mickelson each have three. Horton Smith, Byron Nelson, Ben Hogan, Tom Watson, Seve Ballesteros, Bernhard Langer, Ben Crenshaw, Jose Maria Olazabal, Bubba Watson and Scottie Scheffler each have won twice.

Jack Nicklaus, Nick Faldo and Tiger Woods are the only players to have successfully defended their Masters titles.

Ben Hogan, Jack Nicklaus, Tom Weiskopf had four second place finishes.

The list of Masters Winners follows:

YearChampionCountryTo parMargin of Victory
2024Scottie SchefflerUnited States-114 strokes
2023Jon RahmSpain-124 strokes
2022Scottie SchefflerUnited States-103 strokes
2021Hideki MatsuyamaJapan-101 stroke
2020Dustin Johnson United States-205
2019Tiger WoodsUnited States-181
2018Patrick ReedUnited States-151
2017Sergio GarciaSpain-9Playoff
2016Danny WillettEngland-53
2015Jordan SpiethUnited States-184
2014Bubba WatsonUnited States-83
2013Adam ScottAustralia-9Playoff
2012Bubba WatsonUnited States-10Playoff 2
2011Charl SchwartzelSouth Africa-142
2010Phil MickelsonUnited States-163
2009Angel CabreraArgentina-12Playoff (3)
2008Trevor ImmelmanSouth Africa-83
2007Zach JohnsonUnited States+12
2006Phil MickelsonUnited States-72
2005Tiger WoodsUnited States-12Playoff (2)
2004Phil MickelsonUnited States-91
2003Mike WeirCanada-7Playoff (2)
2002Tiger WoodsUnited States-123
2001Tiger WoodsUnited States-162
2000Vijay SinghFiji-103
1999José María OlazábalSpain-82
1998Mark O’MearaUnited States-91
1997Tiger WoodsUnited States-1812
1996Nick FaldoEngland-125
1995Ben CrenshawUnited States-141
1994José María OlazábalSpain-92
1993Bernhard LangerGermany-114
1992Fred CouplesUnited States-132
1991Ian WoosnamWales-111
1990Nick FaldoEngland-10Playoff (2)
1989Nick FaldoEngland-5Playoff (3)
1988Sandy LyleScotland-71
1987Larry MizeUnited States-3Playoff (3)
1986Jack NicklausUnited States-91
1985Bernhard LangerGermany-61
1984Ben CrenshawUnited States-111
1983Seve BallesterosSpain-84
1982Craig StadlerUnited States-4Playoff (2)
1981Tom WatsonUnited States-82
1980Seve BallesterosSpain-134
1979Fuzzy ZoellerUnited States-8Playoff (3)
1978Gary PlayerSouth Africa-111
1977Tom WatsonUnited States-122
1976Raymond FloydUnited States-178
1975Jack NicklausUnited States-121
1974Gary PlayerSouth Africa-102
1973Tommy AaronUnited States-51
1972Jack NicklausUnited States-23
1971Charles CoodyUnited States-92
1970Billy CasperUnited States-9Playoff (2)
1969George ArcherUnited States-71
1968Bob GoalbyUnited States-111
1967Gay BrewerUnited States-81
1966Jack NicklausUnited StatesEPlayoff (3)
1965Jack Nicklaus-179
1964Arnold PalmerUnited States-126
1963Jack NicklausUnited States-21
1962Arnold PalmerUnited States-8Playoff (3)
1961Gary PlayerSouth Africa-81
1960Arnold PalmerUnited States-61
1959Art Wall, Jr.United States-41
1958Arnold PalmerUnited States-41
1957Doug FordUnited States-53
1956Jack Burke, Jr.United States+11
1955Cary MiddlecoffUnited States-97
1954Sam SneadUnited States+1Playoff (2)
1953Ben HoganUnited States-145
1952Sam SneadUnited States-24
1951Ben HoganUnited States-82
1950Jimmy DemaretUnited States-52
1949Sam SneadUnited States-63
1948Claude HarmonUnited States-95
1947Jimmy DemaretUnited States-72
1946Herman KeiserUnited States-61
1945No tournamentN/AN/AN/A
1944No tournamentN/AN/AN/A
1943No tournamentN/AN/AN/A
1942Byron NelsonUnited States-8Playoff (2)
1941Craig WoodUnited States-83
1940Jimmy DemaretUnited States-84
1939Ralph GuldahlUnited States-91
1938Henry PicardUnited States-32
1937Byron NelsonUnited States-52
1936Horton SmithUnited States-31
1935Gene SarazenUnited States-6Playoff (2)
1934Horton SmithUnited States-41

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

3 thoughts on “Masters Winners 1934 – Present”

  1. “Arnold Palmer and Tiger Woods hold four each.”

    According to the list, Tiger has 5 wins. And Scheffler now joins the group at 2 wins.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading