On The 17th At Sawgrass


There may be no more famous (or more imitated) hole in golf than the 17th at Sawgrass. Thanks to television coverage, golf fans are annually treated to the spectacle of the world’s best golfers plunking their balls in the water like so many amateurs.

Here are a few statistics on the TPC Sawgrass’ 17th hole at the Players Championship:


Since 2002, of the players in the field, nobody has hit their first tee shot in the water on No. 17 more than Aaron Baddeley and Heath Slocum (both have 7). Phil Mickelson has hit six tee shots in the water.

Paul Azinger, in 1987, is the only player to birdie the 17th hole in all four rounds of a single PLAYERS Championship. Brian Gay (2011) is the last player to birdie No. 17 in each of the first three rounds.

Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: