PGA Tour Money Winners and Most Wins

While any win during a season on the PGA Tour is an impressive feat, managing multiple wins or winning the money title is in another category altogether. Those achievements speak to a period of sustained excellence. Since 1997, both those categories have been dominated by—of course—Tiger Woods. In the 1970s and early 1980s, the list was dominated by Jack Nicklaus and Tom Watson. Similarly, Arnold Palmer ruled the 1960s.

Below is a list of the PGA Tour money and win leaders for each season on the PGA Tour, extending back to 1916.

YearMoney winnerEarnings (US$)Most wins
2010 Matt Kuchar4,910,4773: Jim Furyk
2009 Tiger Woods10,508,1636: Tiger Woods
2008 Vijay Singh6,601,0944: Tiger Woods
2007 Tiger Woods10,867,0527: Tiger Woods
2006 Tiger Woods9,941,5638: Tiger Woods
2005 Tiger Woods10,628,0246: Tiger Woods
2004 Vijay Singh10,905,1669: Vijay Singh
2003 Vijay Singh7,573,9075: Tiger Woods
2002 Tiger Woods6,912,6255: Tiger Woods
2001 Tiger Woods5,687,7775: Tiger Woods
2000 Tiger Woods9,188,3219: Tiger Woods
1999 Tiger Woods6,616,5858: Tiger Woods
1998 David Duval2,591,0314: David Duval
1997 Tiger Woods2,066,8334: Tiger Woods
1996 Tom Lehman1,780,1594: Phil Mickelson
1995 Greg Norman1,654,9593: Lee Janzen, Greg Norman
1994 Nick Price1,499,9276: Nick Price
1993 Nick Price1,478,5574: Nick Price
1992 Fred Couples1,344,1883: John Cook; Fred Couples; Davis Love III
1991 Corey Pavin979,4302: 8 players (note 1)
1990 Greg Norman1,165,4774: Wayne Levi
1989 Tom Kite1,395,2783: Tom Kite; Steve Jones
1988 Curtis Strange1,147,6444: Curtis Strange
1987 Curtis Strange925,9413: Paul Azinger; Curtis Strange
1986 Greg Norman653,2964: Bob Tway
1985 Curtis Strange542,3213: Curtis Strange; Lanny Wadkins
1984 Tom Watson476,2603: Tom Watson; Denis Watson
1983 Hal Sutton426,6682: 8 players (note 2)
1982 Craig Stadler446,4624: Craig Stadler, Tom Watson, Calvin Peete
1981 Tom Kite375,6994: Bill Rogers
1980 Tom Watson530,8087: Tom Watson
1979 Tom Watson462,6365: Tom Watson
1978 Tom Watson362,4295: Tom Watson
1977 Tom Watson310,6535: Tom Watson
1976 Jack Nicklaus266,4393: Ben Crenshaw, Hubert Green
1975 Jack Nicklaus298,1495: Jack Nicklaus
1974 Johnny Miller353,0228: Johnny Miller
1973 Jack Nicklaus308,3627: Jack Nicklaus
1972 Jack Nicklaus320,5427: Jack Nicklaus
1971 Jack Nicklaus244,4916: Lee Trevino
1970 Lee Trevino157,0374: Billy Casper
1969 Frank Beard164,7073: 4 players (note 3)
1968 Billy Casper205,1696: Billy Casper
1967 Jack Nicklaus188,9985: Jack Nicklaus
1966 Billy Casper121,9454: Billy Casper
1965 Jack Nicklaus140,7525: Jack Nicklaus
1964 Jack Nicklaus113,2855: Tony Lema
1963 Arnold Palmer128,2307: Arnold Palmer
1962 Arnold Palmer81,4488: Arnold Palmer
1961 Gary Player64,5406: Arnold Palmer
1960 Arnold Palmer75,2638: Arnold Palmer
1959 Art Wall, Jr.53,1685: Gene Littler
1958 Arnold Palmer42,6084: Ken Venturi
1957 Dick Mayer65,8354: Arnold Palmer
1956 Ted Kroll72,8364: Mike Souchak
1955 Julius Boros63,1226: Cary Middlecoff
1954 Bob Toski65,8204: Bob Toski
1953 Lew Worsham34,0025: Ben Hogan
1952 Julius Boros37,0335: Jack Burke, Jr., Sam Snead
1951 Lloyd Mangrum26,0896: Cary Middlecoff
1950 Sam Snead35,75911: Sam Snead
1949 Sam Snead31,5947: Cary Middlecoff
1948 Ben Hogan32,11210: Ben Hogan
1947 Jimmy Demaret27,9377: Ben Hogan
1946 Ben Hogan42,55613: Ben Hogan
1945 Byron Nelson63,33618: Byron Nelson
1944 Byron Nelson37,9688: Byron Nelson
1943No records kept1: Sam Byrd, Harold McSpaden, Steve Warga
1942 Ben Hogan13,1436: Ben Hogan
1941 Ben Hogan18,3587: Sam Snead
1940 Ben Hogan10,6556: Jimmy Demaret
1939 Henry Picard10,3038: Henry Picard
1938 Sam Snead19,5348: Sam Snead
1937 Harry Cooper14,1398: Harry Cooper
1936 Horton Smith7,6823: Ralph Guldahl, Jimmy Hines, Henry Picard
1935 Johnny Revolta9,5435: Henry Picard, Johnny Revolta
1934 Paul Runyan6,7677: Paul Runyan
1933N/AN/A9: Paul Runyan
1932N/AN/A4: Gene Sarazen
1931N/AN/A4: Wiffy Cox
1930N/AN/A8: Gene Sarazen
1929N/AN/A8: Horton Smith
1928N/AN/A7: Bill Mehlhorn
1927N/AN/A7: Johnny Farrell
1926N/AN/A5: Bill Mehlhorn, Macdonald Smith
1925N/AN/A5: Leo Diegel
1924N/AN/A5: Walter Hagen
1923N/AN/A5: Walter Hagen, Joe Kirkwood, Sr.
1922N/AN/A4: Walter Hagen
1921N/AN/A4: Jim Barnes
1920N/AN/A4: Jock Hutchison
1919N/AN/A5: Jim Barnes
1918N/AN/A1: Patrick Doyle, Walter Hagen, Jock Hutchison
1917N/AN/A2: Jim Barnes, Mike Brady
1916N/AN/A3: Jim Barnes

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading