Waste Management Phoenix Open Winners and History

Waste Management Phoenix Open Winners

Waste Management Phoenix Open Winners and History

The Phoenix Open dates back to 1932 and 1933, when it was known as the Arizona Open. The inaugural Arizona Open / Phoenix Open Winner was Ralph Guldahl. In his career Guldahl won sixteen PGA TOUR events, two US Opens and a Masters.

The Arizona Open was suspended for one year and then returned in 1935 for one more. But like a Phoenix, it rose from the ashes in 1939 when Bob Goldwater Sr. convinced his civic group, The Thunderbirds, to sponsor a golf event.

As with the original Arizona Open, the Phoenix Open was played at the Phoenix Country Club. Beginning in 1955, the Arizona Country Club (also in Phoenix) alternated as event host with Phoenix Country Club; this arrangement lasted until Phoenix Country Club took The Arizona Country Club’s turn in 1975 and became the event’s permanent home. Finally, in 1987, it moved to the now famous TPC Scottsdale, with its circus par three 16th.

Phoenix Open Is Best Attended Event On Tour

The Phoenix Open is annually the best attended event on tour, drawing as many as 500,000 over the weekend. Some of that is due to the circus surrounding the par 3 16th, which has been converted to an amphitheatre that seats thousands. In 2008, the tournament set a PGA Tour record of 538,356 fans.

Waste Management Phoenix Open Winners and History
TPC Scottsdale. Photo via PGA TOUR

Phoenix Open founder Bob Goldwater was an accomplished amateur golfer. He won the Arizona State Amateur and the Southwest Amateur three times each. In 1951, he beat well-known amateur Charlie Coe in the Broadmore Invitational in Colorado Springs. Because the other Thunderbirds were skeptical about the golf event, Goldwater did all the work on the first tournament himself.

Mark Calcavecchia, Gene Littler and Arnold Palmer are three time Phoenix Open Winners. JB Holmes, Phil Mickelson, Vijay Singh, Bob Gilder, Miller Barber, Johnny Miller, Lloyd Mangrum, Jimmy Demaret, Ben Hogan and Byron Nelson each are two time Phoenix Open winners.

The tournament record was set by Mark Calcavecchia in 1981, with a aggregate 256, which was an astonishing 28 under par.

Waste Management Phoenix Open Winners

A list of Waste Management Phoenix Open Winners from 1932 to present follows:

YearPlayerScoreTo parMargin
Waste Management Phoenix Open
2024Nick Taylor263-21Playoff
2023Scottie Scheffler265-192 strokes
2022Scottie Scheffler268-16playoff
2021Brooks Koepka265-191 stroke
2020Webb Simpson267 -17playoff
2019Rickie Fowler267-172 strokes
2018Gary Woodland266-18 playoff
2017Hideki Matsuyama267-17 playoff
2016Hideki Matsuyama270-14 playoff
2015Brooks Koepka269-151 stroke
2014Kevin Stadler268-161 stroke
2013Phil Mickelson256-284 strokes
2012Kyle Stanley269-151 stroke
2011Mark Wilson266-18Playoff
2010Hunter Mahan268-161 stroke
FBR Open
2009Kenny Perry270-14Playoff
2008J. B. Holmes270-14playoff
2007Aaron Baddeley263-211 stroke
2006J. B. Holmes263-217 strokes
2005Phil Mickelson267-175 strokes
2004Jonathan Kaye266-182 strokes
Phoenix Open
2003Vijay Singh261-233 strokes
2002Chris DiMarco267-171 stroke
2001Mark Calcavecchia256-288 strokes
2000Tom Lehman270-141 stroke
1999Rocco Mediate273-112 strokes
1998Jesper Parnevik269-153 strokes
1997Steve Jones258-2611 strokes
1996Phil Mickelson269-15playoff
1995Vijay Singh269-15playoff
1994Bill Glasson268-163 strokes
1993Lee Janzen273-112 strokes
1992Mark Calcavecchia264-205 strokes
1991Nolan Henke268-161 stroke
1990Tommy Armour III267-175 strokes
1989Mark Calcavecchia263-217 strokes
1988Sandy Lyle269-15playoff
1987Paul Azinger268-161 stroke
1986Hal Sutton267-212 strokes
1985Calvin Peete270-142 strokes
1984Tom Purtzer268-161 stroke
1983Bob Gilder271-13playoff
1982Lanny Wadkins263-216 strokes
1981David Graham268-161 stroke
1980Jeff Mitchell272-124 strokes
1979Ben Crenshaw199*-141 stroke
1978Miller Barber272-121 stroke
1977Jerry Pate277-7playoff
1976Bob Gilder268-162 strokes
1975Johnny Miller260-2414 strokes
1974Johnny Miller271-131 stroke
1973Bruce Crampton268-121 stroke
1972Homero Blancas273-11playoff
Phoenix Open Invitational
1971Miller Barber261-232 strokes
1970Dale Douglass271-131 stroke
1969Gene Littler263-212 strokes
1968George Knudson272-123 strokes
1967Julius Boros272-121 stroke
1966Dudley Wysong278-61 stroke
1965Rod Funseth274-143 strokes
1964Jack Nicklaus271-173 strokes
1963Arnold Palmer273-151 stroke
1962Arnold Palmer269-1512 strokes
1961Arnold Palmer270-10playoff
1960Jack Fleck273-11playoff
1959Gene Littler268-121 stroke
1958Ken Venturi274-101 stroke
1957Billy Casper271-93 strokes
Phoenix Open
1956Cary Middlecoff276-83 strokes
1955Gene Littler275-51 stroke
1954Ed Furgol272-12playoff
1953Lloyd Mangrum272-126 strokes
1952Lloyd Mangrum274-105 strokes
1951Lew Worsham272-121 stroke
Ben Hogan Open
1950Jimmy Demaret269-151 stroke
Phoenix Open
1949Jimmy Demaret278-6playoff
1948Bobby Locke268-161 stroke
1947Ben Hogan270-147 strokes
1946Ben Hogan273-11playoff
1945Byron Nelson274-102 strokes
1944Harold “Jug” McSpaden273-11playoff
1943No tournament
1942No tournament – hosted Western Open
1941No tournament – hosted Western Open
1940Ed Oliver205*-81 stroke
1939Byron Nelson198*-1512 strokes
1936-38No tournament
1935Ky Laffoon281-34 strokes
1934No tournament
Arizona Open
1933Harry Cooper281-32 strokes
1932Ralph Guldahl285-15 strokes
* shortened due to 54 holes due to rain

4 thoughts on “Waste Management Phoenix Open Winners and History”

  1. The main reason I think Tiger decided to play this event is its proximity to the Super Bowl, and when he misses the cut, more time in PHX! :/


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading