QBE Shootout Winners and History

QBE Shootout Winners and History
QBE Shootout

Better known as the Shark Shootout, The QBE Shootout is a “Silly Season” team golf event hosted by Greg Norman annually in Naples, Florida. Originally held after the last money tournament of the season, it part of the beginning of the PGA Tour’s wraparound season.

It’s still the silly season.

The Shootout is a team stroke play event held over three days and 54 holes.

The first round is a scramble, where each player tees off, and the team decides which shot was better. The second is played from that ball, and so on. It’s the classic golf outing scramble format.

The second round is played in the Greensomes (Scotch Foursomes) format. Both players tee off, the better ball is chosen, and then alternate shots are used to complete the hole.

The final round is Four Ball (better ball, best ball). Each player plays his own ball from tee to green, and the lower score of the two on the team is used.

The event benefits Curesearch For Children’s Cancer.

QBE became name sponsor in 2017, following a six year run as the Franklin Templeton Shootout. QBE is an Australian insurance group.

Past QBE Shootout Winners are below:

QBE Shootout

2019 KEvin Tway and Rory Sabbatini
2018 Patton Kizzire and Brian Harman
2017 Sean O’Hair & Steve Stricker

Franklin Templeton Shootout

2016 Harris English and Matt Kuchar
2015 Jason Dufner and Brandt Snedeker
2014 Jason Day and Cameron Tringale
2013 Harris English and Matt Kuchar
2012 Sean O’Hair & Kenny Perry
2011 Keegan Bradley & Brendan Steele

Shark Shootout
2010 Dustin Johnson & Ian Poulter
2009 Jerry Kelly & Steve Stricker

Merrill Lynch Shootout
2008 Scott Hoch & Kenny Perry
2007 Woody Austin & Mark Calcavecchia
2006 Jerry Kelly & Rod Pampling

Franklin Templeton Shootout
2005 John Huston & Kenny Perry
2004 Hank Kuehne & Jeff Sluman
2003 Hank Kuehne & Jeff Sluman
2002 Lee Janzen & Rocco Mediate
2001 Brad Faxon & Scott McCarron
2000 Brad Faxon & Scott McCarron

Franklin Templeton Shark Shootout
1999 Fred Couples & David Duval
1998 Steve Elkington & Greg Norman
1997 Bruce Lietzke & Scott McCarron
1996 Jay Haas & Tom Kite
1995 Mark Calcavecchia & Steve Elkington

Franklin Funds Shark Shootout
1994 Fred Couples & Brad Faxon
1993 Steve Elkington & Raymond Floyd
1992 Tom Kite & Davis Love III
Shark Shootout Benefiting RMCC
1991 Tom Purtzer & Lanny Wadkins

RMCC Invitational
1990 Fred Couples & Raymond Floyd
1989 Mark O’Meara & Curtis Strange

Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: