Sanderson Farms Championship Winners and History

Sanderson Farms Championship

Sanderson Farms Championship Winners and History

The Sanderson Farms Championship, in one form or another, has been part of the PGA Tour schedule since 1968. Throughout most of the tournament’s history, it has served as an opposite field event for major tournaments.

Sanderson Farms is the current name sponsor. The event previously has been known as the True South Classic, Viking Classic, Deposit Guaranty Golf Classic, Southern Farm Bureau Classic.

Originally played at the Hattiesburg Country Club in Hattiesburg, the event moved in 1994 to Annandale Golf Club in Madison, which hosted through 2013. It currently is played at the Country Club of Jackson, Misssissippi

Sponsor Sanderson Farms is one of the nation’s leading food corporations and is based in Mississippi, in Laurel. The tournament’s host organization, Century Club Charities, is a non-profit, tax-exempt 501(c)(3) organization whose mission is promoting the game of golf for the benefit of charity. The Sanderson Farms Championship’s primary charity is Friends of Children’s Hospital, a 501(c)(3) benefitting the Blair E. Batson Hospital for children.

As the Magnolia State Classic and Deposit Guaranty Golf Classic, the tournament was played opposite the Masters from 1969 to 1993. From 1994 to 1998, the Deposit Guaranty Golf Classic was played opposite the Open Championship. It has also been scheduled opposite the Tour Championship and WGC American Express Championship as the Southern Farm Bureau Classic from 2000 to 2006. As the Viking Classic between 2007 and 2011, it was scheduled opposite the President’s Cup, Ryder Cup and Open Championship. For one year as the True South Classic (2012) it was held opposite the Open Championship.

The Sanderson Farms Championship has been an opposite field event for much of its lifespan. The 2019 staging is the first where it is not opposite another major tournament.

2014–2018WGC-HSBC Champions
1994–1998, 2011–2013The Open Championship
2008, 2010Ryder Cup
2007Presidents Cup
2003–2004, 2006WGC-American Express Championship
1999–2002, 2005Tour Championship
1969–1993Masters Tournament
1968Colonial National Invitation

There was no tournament in 2014, due to the switch to the PGA TOUR’s new wraparound schedule.

The Sanderson Farms Championship has has been an official money event on the PGA Tour since 1994. Prior to that, it was a satellite event with the money counting but the wins counting as unofficial.

As an alternate event, the winner does not get an invitation to the Masters Tournament, but does earn a trip to the PGA Championship, a two-year PGA Tour exemption, a minimum of 24 OWGR points, and 300 FedEx Cup points.

Among the tournament winners are Craig Stadler, Payne Stewart and Fred Funk.

Sanderson Farms Championship Winners

A complete list of Sanderson Farms winners follows:

Sanderson Farms Winners

SeasonPlayerScoreTo parMargin
Sanderson Farms Championship
2020Sergio Garcia269-191 stroke
2019Sebastian Munoz270-18Playoff
2018Ryan Armour269-195 Strokes
2017Cody Gribble265−204 strokes
2016Peter Malnati270−181 stroke
2015Nick Taylor272−162 strokes
2013Woody Austin268−20Playoff
True South Classic
2012Scott Stallings264−242 strokes
Viking Classic
2011Chris Kirk266−221 stroke
2010Bill Haas273−153 strokes
2009Tournament cancelled
2008Will MacKenzie269−19Playoff
2007Chad Campbell275−131 stroke
Southern Farm Bureau Classic
2006D. J. Trahan275−13Playoff
2005Heath Slocum267−212 strokes
2004Fred Funk (2)266−221 stroke
2003John Huston268−201 stroke
2002Luke Donald201−151 stroke
2001Cameron Beckman269−191 stroke
2000Steve Lowery266−22Playoff
1999Brian Henninger (2)202−143 strokes
Deposit Guaranty Golf Classic
1998Fred Funk270−182 strokes
1997Billy Ray Brown271−171 stroke
1996Willie Wood268−201 stroke
1995Ed Dougherty272−162 strokes
1994Brian Henninger135−9Playoff
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

2 thoughts on “Sanderson Farms Championship Winners and History”

  1. Well, the OWGR website doesn’t have any information about the tournament. The same happened with the Bridgestone Americas Golf Cup of the PGA Tour Latinoamérica.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: