Scottish Open Winners and History

Scottish Open Winners and History

Scottish Open Winners and History

Although it seems as though the Scottish Open would be one of the oldest championships in golf, it actually dates to just 1972.

The first Scottish Open was held at Downfield Golf Club. In 1972, moved to St. Andrews.

Then it went on a twelve year hiatus.

When the Scottish Open made its appearance again, it was to replace the Glasgow Open on the European Tour calendar. In 1997, the Scottish Open again disappeared from the European Tour schedule, to be replaced by the Loch Lomond World Invitational, which had been launched the year before. In 2001, the Loch Lomond was renamed the Scottish Open and all previous playings of the Loch Lomond were renamed the “Scottish Open.”

Thus, as if that were not confusing enough, there were now two “Scottish Open” champions for 1996—a year in which both the Loch Lomond and the Scottish Open were played.

The Scottish Open was held at Loch Lomond until 2011, when the venue was changed to the Castle Stuart Golf Links. The move apparently was instigated by concerns that Loch Lomond was dissimilar to the links courses on which the Open Championship is played the following week and by financial difficulties suffered by Loch Lomond. The Scottish Open moved again, to Royal Aberdeen in 2014. In 2015, it was at Gullane, then returned to Castle Stuart in 2016.

A list of Scottish Open winners follows:

Aberdeen Asset Management Scottish Open    
2019Renaissance Bernd WeisbergerAustria262 (-22) PO
2018Gullane Golf ClubBrandon StoneS. Africa260 (-20)
2017Dundonald LinksRafael Cabrera-BelloSpain275 (-13) PO
2016Castle Stuart Golf ClubAlexander NorénSweden274 (-14)
2016Castle Stuart Golf ClubAlexander NorénSweden274 (-14)
2015Gullane Golf ClubRickie FowlerUnited States268 (-12)
2014Royal Aberdeen Golf ClubJustin RoseEngland268 (-16)
2013Castle Stuart Golf LinksPhil Mickelson United States271 (−17)
2012Castle Stuart Golf LinksJeev Milkha Singh India271 (−17)
Barclays Scottish Open    
 2011Castle Stuart Golf LinksLuke Donald England197 (−19)
2010Loch Lomond Golf ClubEdoardo Molinari Italy272 (−12)
2009Loch Lomond Golf ClubMartin Kaymer Germany269 (−15)
2008Loch Lomond Golf ClubGraeme McDowell Northern Ireland271 (−13)
2007Loch Lomond Golf ClubGrégory Havret France272 (−14)
2006Loch Lomond Golf ClubJohan Edfors Sweden271 (−13)
2005Loch Lomond Golf ClubTim Clark South Africa265 (−19)
2004Loch Lomond Golf ClubThomas Levet France269 (−15)
2003Loch Lomond Golf ClubErnie Els (2) South Africa267 (−17)
2002Loch Lomond Golf ClubEduardo Romero Argentina273 (−11)
The Scottish Open at Loch Lomond    
2001Loch Lomond Golf ClubRetief Goosen South Africa268 (−16)
Standard Life Loch Lomond    
2000Loch Lomond Golf ClubErnie Els South Africa273 (−11)
1999Loch Lomond Golf ClubColin Montgomerie Scotland268 (−16)
The Standard Life Loch Lomond    
1998Loch Lomond Golf ClubLee Westwood England276 (−8)
Gulfstream Loch Lomond World Invitational    
1997Loch Lomond Golf ClubTom Lehman United States265 (−19)
Loch Lomond World Invitational    
 1996*Loch Lomond Golf ClubThomas Bjørn Denmark277 (−7)
Scottish Open    
 1996*CarnoustieIan Woosnam (3) Wales289 (+1)
1995CarnoustieWayne Riley Australia276 (−12)
Bell’s Scottish Open    
1994King’s Course, GleneaglesCarl Mason England265 (−15)
1993King’s Course, GleneaglesJesper Parnevik Sweden271 (−9)
1992King’s Course, GleneaglesPeter O’Malley Australia262 (−18)
1991King’s Course, GleneaglesCraig Parry Australia268 (−12)
1990King’s Course, GleneaglesIan Woosnam (2) Wales269 (−15)
1989King’s Course, GleneaglesMichael Allen United States272 (−8)
1988King’s Course, GleneaglesBarry Lane England271 (−13)
1987King’s Course, GleneaglesIan Woosnam Wales264 (−20)
1986Haggs CastleDavid Feherty Northern Ireland270 (−14)
1974–85: No tournament    
Sunbeam Electric Scottish Open    
1973St. Andrews, Old CourseGraham Marsh Australia286 (−2)
 1972Downfield, DundeeNeil Coles England283 (−5)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: