Solheim Cup Winners and History

Solheim Cup Winners

Solheim Cup Winners and History

Played biennially since 1990, the Solheim Cup is a team golf competition between players representing Europe and the United States.

Players compete in 28 matches over three days: Eight Foursomes, eight Four-Balls and on the final day, 12 singles. The eight Foursomes are played Friday and Saturday morning. The eight Four-Balls are played on Friday and Saturday afternoon.  One point is awarded for each match. A total of fourteen points are required to defend a title.

Click on the link for more on the Solheim Cup playing format: Foursomes, Four-Balls and Match Play.

The competition is named for Karsten Solheim, founder of Ping Golf, who agreed in 1990 to sponsor the event for twenty years.

The Solheim Cup alternates with the Ryder Cup, which features men’s teams from Europe and the United States. The Solheim competition originally was played in even years, but when the Ryder Cup was postponed for a year following the September 11 attacks, the Solheim Cup also was delayed and ended up being played on odd numbered years.

Each Solheim Cup team consists of twelve players. On the US side, ten players are selected via a points system; the remaining two are Captain’s Picks. For Europe, four players are selected via a points system, four on the basis of their Rolex Rankings and four via Captain’s Picks.

A few Random Solheim Cup records:

  • The largest Solheim Cup margin of victory was Europe of the United States (18-10) in 2013.
  • Laura Davies (Europe) holds the record for most appearances, with 12. She also holds the record of most points earned (25); most matches played (46), most matches won (22).
  • The record for most team points scored belongs to Laura Davies and Alison Nicholas (Europe), with five. On the American side, Dottie Pepper and Brandie Burton hold the record with 4.5 points scored as a team.
  • Julie Inkster holds the record for most points scored in singles competition at 7.

A list of Solheim Cup winners follows:

Solheim Cup Winners

YearVenueWinning teamScoreUSA captainEurope captain
2019Gleneagles, ScotlandEurop14 1/2 - 13 1/2Julie InksterScotland Catriona Matthew
2017Des Moines Golf and Country Club, Iowa, USAUnited States16 1/2–11 1/2Juli InksterSweden Annika Sörenstam
2015Golf Club St. Leon-Rot, GermanyUnited States 14½–13½Juli InksterSweden Carin Koch
2013Colorado Golf Club, Colorado, USAEurope 18–10Meg MallonSweden Liselotte Neumann
2011Killeen Castle Golf Resort, IrelandEurope 15–13Rosie JonesEngland Alison Nicholas
2009Rich Harvest Farms, Illinois, USAUnited States16–12Beth DanielEngland Alison Nicholas
2007Halmstad GK, SwedenUnited States16–12Betsy KingSweden Helen Alfredsson
2005Crooked Stick Golf Club, Indiana, USAUnited States15½–12½Nancy LopezSweden Catrin Nilsmark
2003Barsebäck Golf & Country Club, SwedenEurope17½–10½Patty SheehanSweden Catrin Nilsmark
2002Interlachen Country Club, Minnesota, USAUnited States15½–12½Patty SheehanScotland Dale Reid
2000Loch Lomond Golf Club, ScotlandEurope14½–11½Pat BradleyScotland Dale Reid
1998Muirfield Village, Ohio, USAUnited States16–12Judy RankinSweden Pia Nilsson
1996St Pierre Golf & Country Club, WalesUnited States17–11Judy RankinEngland Mickey Walker
1994The Greenbrier, West Virginia, USAUnited States13–7JoAnne CarnerEngland Mickey Walker
1992Dalmahoy Country Club, ScotlandEurope11½–6½Kathy WhitworthEngland Mickey Walker
1990Lake Nona Golf & Country Club, Florida, USAUnited States11½–4½Kathy WhitworthEngland Mickey Walker
Solheim Cup Winners, Scores, Captains and Venues
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

1 thought on “Solheim Cup Winners and History”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: