Swinging Skirts Championship Winners and History

imageThe LPGA’s Swinging Skirts Championship is the first event co-sanctioned LPGA event held on US soil.

The LPGA’s partners in this event are the Taiwan Ladies Professional Golf Association and the Korea Ladies Professional Golf Tour. The title sponsor is the Swinging Skirts Golf Team, a Taiwanese group dedicated to growing the game of golf. The organization has conducted the “Dream Chasing Cup” throughout northern, central and southern Taiwan to help lay the path for Taiwanese junior golfers to make it to the international stage.

The tournament’s host is the Lake Merced Golf Club, which was founded in 1922 in Daly City, California. The club was one of the first to eliminate gender restrictions from its membership policies. The course has a fabulous design history. It was originally laid out by Willie Lock in 1923. In 1929, it was re-designed by Alister MacKenzie. Robert Muir Graves rerouted the course in 1960 to accommodate a highway, and yet another re-design was done by Rees Jones in 1996.

Joining the LPGA field are the top 10 players from the Taiwain LPGA, seven specially exempted Taiwanese players, five sponsor exemptions and two Monday qualifiers.

The purse for the inaugural event is $1.8 million.

The list of Swinging Skirts Championship winners follows:

Year Champion Country Winning Score
2016 Haru Nomura Japan 65-70-71-73=279
2015 Lydia Ko New Zealand 67-72-71-70=280
2014 Lydia Ko New Zealand 68-71-68-69=272
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: