Transitions Championship Past Winners and History


The Transitions Championship has had a short and checkered history. Founded in 2000 as an alternate event to the President’s Cup, it began life as the Tampa Bay Classic. In 2001, it was supposed to be the alternate event to the WGC-American Express Championship, but was cancelled because of the terrorist attacks on September 11. It served as the alternate event in 2002.

Chrysler became the sponsor in 2003, and the event had its own slot as the last full-field event before the Tour Championship. Renamed the Chrysler Championship, the tournament held that spot until 2006.

In 2007, the tournament found a new slot in the schedule, and a new sponsor: PODS. Originally, PODS had a six year sponsorship agreement, but backed out on an option after 2008. Transitions Optical, another Florida corporation, became the sponsor in 2009. 

The players with the most wins in the event are Retief Goosen (2003 and 2009), and K.J. Choi (2002 and 2006).

Retief Goosen is also the tournament’s leading money winner, with over $2,000,000 in earnings at the event.

The tournament record was set by Vijay Singh in 2004 with a −18 winning total of 266.

DateWinnerCountryScore1st Prize ($)Purse ($)
Transitions Championship
Mar. 28, 2012Luke DonaldEngland271 (-13)990,0005,500,000 ($)
Mar. 20, 2011Gary WoodlandUnited States269 (-15)990,0005,500,000 ($)
Mar 21, 2010Jim Furyk United States271 (−13)972,0005,400,000
Mar 22, 2009Retief Goosen South Africa276 (−8)972,0005,400,000
PODS Championship
Mar 9, 2008Sean O’Hair United States280 (−4)954,0005,300,000
Mar 11, 2007Mark Calcavecchia United States274 (−10)954,0005,300,000
Chrysler Championship
Oct 29, 2006K. J. Choi South Korea271 (−13)954,0005,300,000
Oct 30, 2005Carl Pettersson Sweden275 (−9)954,0005,300,000
Oct 31, 2004Vijay Singh Fiji266 (−18)900,0005,000,000
Nov 2, 2003Retief Goosen South Africa272 (−12)864,0004,800,000
Tampa Bay Classic presented by Buick
Sep 22, 2002K. J. Choi South Korea267 (−17)468,0002,600,000
Tampa Bay Classic
Sep 16, 2001Cancelled due to the terrorist attacks on September 11
Oct 22, 2000John Huston United States271 (−13)432,0002,400,000

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading