Valspar Championship Winners and History

Valspar Championship Logo

The inaugural Valspar Championship was played in 2014. The tournament succeeded the Tampa Bay Championship Presented by Everbank, which in turn replaced the Transitions Championship.

The origins of the tournament are in an alternate event to the 2000 President’s Cup, when it was known as The Tampa Bay Classic. In 2001, it was supposed to be the alternate event to the WGC-American Express Championship, but was cancelled because of the terrorist attacks on September 11. It served as the alternate event in 2002.

Chrysler became the sponsor in 2003, and the event had its own slot as the last full-field event before the Tour Championship. Renamed the Chrysler Championship, the tournament held that spot until 2006.

In 2007, the tournament found a new slot in the schedule, and a new sponsor: PODS. Originally, PODS had a six year sponsorship agreement, but backed out on an option after 2008. Transitions Optical, another Florida corporation, became the sponsor in 2009.

The players with the most wins in the event are Retief Goosen (2003 and 2009), and K.J. Choi (2002 and 2006).

Retief Goosen is also the tournament’s leading money winner, with over $2,000,000 in earnings at the event.

The tournament record was set by Vijay Singh in 2004 with a −18 winning total of 266.

Valspar is a manufacturer of paint and coatings based in Minneapolis, Minnesota. The company is more than 200 years old, having its origins in a paint store that opened in Boston, Massachusetts in 1806. After changing hands several times, it was bought by Augustine Stimson. Later, it merged with a varnish manufacturer named Valentine and Company. Stimson and Valentine relocated to New York in 1970, and acquired the Minnesota Linseed Paint Company. Valspar was a revolutionary clear finish developed by L. Valentine Pulsifer. It was the company’s main product for decades, and was deployed on Robert Peary’s arctic expeditions and Charles Lindberg’s 1927 flight. Because of this association, the company was reformed in 932 as the Valspar Corporation.

Given all this, the logo is pretty clever, isn’t it.

A complete list of Valspar Championship winners follows

DateWinnerScoreTo parMargin
Valspar Championship
2024Peter Malnati272-122 shots
2023Taylor Moore274-101 shot
2022Sam Burns267-17Playoff
2021Sam Burns267-173 strokes
2020Cancelled Due to Covid
2019Paul Casey (2)276−81 stroke
2018Paul Casey274−101 stroke
2017Adam Hadwin270−141 stroke
2016Charl Schwartzel277−7Playoff
2015Jordan Spieth274−10Playoff
2014John Senden277−71 stroke
Tampa Bay Championship
presented by
2013Kevin Streelman274−102 strokes
Transitions Championship
2012Luke Donald271−13Playoff
2011Gary Woodland269−151 stroke
2010Jim Furyk271−131 stroke
2009Retief Goosen (2)276−81 stroke
 2008Sean O’Hair280−42 strokes
2007Mark Calcavecchia274−101 stroke
Oct 2006K. J. Choi (2)271−134 strokes
Oct 2005Carl Pettersson275−91 stroke
Oct 2004Vijay Singh266−185 strokes
Nov 2003Retief Goosen272−123 strokes
Tampa Bay
by Buick
Sep 2002K. J. Choi267−177 strokes
Tampa Bay
Sep 2001Canceled due to the September 11 attacks
Oct 2000John Huston271−133 strokes

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading