AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open Winners and History

AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open Winners and History

The AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open was first played in 2015, and is co-sanctioned by the European Tour, Sunshine Tour and Asian Tour. It is the only event co-sanctioned by those three tours. As such, it brings representation from nearly thirty different countries..


The inaugural tournament was especially notable for Javier Colomo’s hole-in-one on the 329-yard par four ninth. It was the first par four hole-in-one on any of the three sanctioning tours. Colomo made the cut thanks to that albatross, which was on his final hole of the day.

The first two years, the Mauritius Open was played in May. For the 2018 season (starting in the fall 2017), it was moved to December.

Afrasia Bank Mauritius Open Venues:

2022Mont Choisy

The Heritage Course is an Ernie Els design. Measuring 7,500-yards, it features six ocean-front holes.

Mauritius is an island nation in the Indian Ocean. Officially named the Republic of Mauritius, it is located west of Madagascar and the African continent. The population of Mauritius is 1.2 million.

A list of Mauritius Open winners follows

YearWinnerCountryScoreTo parMargin of Victory
2023Louis OosthuizenSouth Africa271-172 strokes
2022Antoine RoznerFrance269-193 strokes
2019Rasmus HojgaardDenmark269-19playoff
2018Kurt KitayamaUS268-202 strokes
2017Dylan FrittelliSouth Africa268-16Playoff
2016Wang Jeung-hunSouth Korea282-61 stroke
2015George Coetzee South Africa271-13Playoff

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading