PNC Championship Winners and History

PNC Championship Winners and History

Known for years as the Father/Son Challenge, the PNC Championship is an annual team tournament on the PGA and Champions Tours. The teams typically consist of a player who has won a major or The Players’ Championship and a partner, usually a son, but on occasion a daughter, father or grandson.

In 2022, the field includes Nelly Korda and her father, Australian Open tennis Champion Petr Korda; Annika Sorenstam and her son, Will; Justin Thomas and his father, Mike; Jordan Spieth and his father, Shawn.

The event is 36 holes played over two days.

Winners receive the Willie Park Trophy, which is named for father and son Open Championship winners Willie Park Sr. and Willie Park Jr.

Ray Floyd and his son Raymond Floyd, Jr. won the first of the events and five of the first seven.

PNC is a financial services company based in Pittsburgh.

YearWinnersScoreTo parMargin of
PNC Championship
2022Bernhard Langer (5) and Jason Langer119-252 strokes
2021 John Daly and
John Daly II (son)
117−272 strokes
2020 Justin Thomas and
Mike Thomas (father)
119−251 stroke
PNC Father-Son Challenge
2019 Bernhard Langer (4) and
Jason Langer
2018 Davis Love III (2) and Dru Love (son)118−263 strokes
2017 Ángel Cabrera and
Ángel Cabrera Jr. (son)
119−251 stroke
2016 David Duval and
Nick Karavites (stepson)
123−211 stroke
2015 Lanny Wadkins and
Tucker Wadkins (son)
2014 Bernhard Langer (3) and
Jason Langer (son)
121−232 strokes
2013 Stewart Cink and
Connor Cink (son)
122−223 strokes
2012 Davis Love III and
Dru Love (son)
121−231 stroke
Del Webb Father/Son Challenge
2009–2011: No tournament
2008 Larry Nelson (3) and
Drew Nelson (son)
123−212 strokes
2007 Larry Nelson (2) and
Josh Nelson (son)
120−242 strokes
2006 Bernhard Langer (2) and Stefan Langer (son)120−241 stroke
MBNA WorldPoints Father/Son Challenge
2005 Bernhard Langer and
Stefan Langer
120−241 stroke
Office Depot Father/Son Challenge
2004 Larry Nelson and Drew Nelson (son)119−253 strokes
2003 Hale Irwin and
Steve Irwin (son)
123−211 stroke
2002 Craig Stadler and Kevin Stadler (son)120−24Playoff
2001 Raymond Floyd (5) and
Robert Floyd (son)
124−201 stroke
2000 Raymond Floyd (4) and
Robert Floyd (son)
1999 Jack Nicklaus and
Gary Nicklaus (son)
1998 Bob Charles and
David Charles (son)
119−254 strokes
1997 Raymond Floyd (3) and
Raymond Floyd Jr. (son)
120−241 stroke
1996 Raymond Floyd (2) and
Raymond Floyd Jr. (son)
124−202 strokes
1995 Raymond Floyd and Raymond Floyd Jr. (son)119−256 strokes

The post PNC Championship Winners and History first appeared on GolfBlogger.Com. If you see it elsewhere, it has been stolen and is being reproduced without permission.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading