BMW Championship Winners and History


The third leg of the PGA Tour’s FedEx Cup playoff, the BMW Championship replaced the venerable and much respected Western Open on the schedule in 2007. The Western Open was played nearly continuously since 1899 and at one time would have been considered one of golf’s Majors.

In 2017, the BMW Championship will be played at Conway Farms, in Lake Forest, Illinois.

The BMW Championship is a limited field event, open to the top 70 players in the FedEx Cup standings, following the Deutsche Bank Championship. The top 30 following the BMW go on to the Tour Championship.

The late, lamented Western Open was played from 1899 – 2006. The tournament was run by the Western Golf Association, which continues to run the BMW Championship. The Western Golf Association, also founded in 1899, is the administrator of the Evans Scholar program.

Interestingly, the Western Golf Association was formed because western golf clubs (midwest and points further) thought they were being ill served by the USGA. It was a rules making body for twenty years in competition with the USGA.

The past winners of the BMW Championship follow:

BMW Championship Past Winners
YearWinnerCountryScoresTo ParMarginCourseState
2017Marc LeishmanAustralia62-64-68-67=265-235Conway Farms Golf ClubIL
2016Dustin JohnsonUnited States67-63-68-67=265-233Crooked StickIN
2015Jason DayAustralia61-63-69-69=262-226Conway Farms Golf ClubIL
2014Billy HorschellUnited States68-63-66-69=266-142Cherry Hills Country ClubCO
2013Zach JohnsonUnited States64-70-69-65=268-162Conway Farms Golf ClubIL
2012Rory McIlroyNorthern Ireland64-68-69-67=268-202Crooked Stick Golf ClubIN
2012Justin RoseEngland63-68-69-71=271-132Cog Hill Golf & Country ClubIL
2010Dustin JohnsonUnited States68-70-68-69=275-91 strokeCog Hill Golf & Country ClubIL
2009Tiger Woods (2)United States68-67-62-68=265-198 strokesCog Hill Golf & Country ClubIL
2008Camilo VillegasColombia65-66-66-68=265-152 strokesBellerive Country ClubMO
2007Tiger WoodsUnited States67-67-65-63=262-222 strokesCog Hill Golf & Country ClubIL

1 thought on “BMW Championship Winners and History

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: