BMW PGA Championship Winners and History – European Tour

Founded in 1955, the BMW PGA Championship originally was known as the British PGA Championship. It has since gone through thirteen name changes and sponsors.

NOTE: This entry is for the European Tour event. Click here for the PGA TOUR’s Fedex Cup Playoff event.

Since 1984, the tournament has been played at Wentworth Club in Surrey, England. The European Tour’s headquarter is at Wentworth Club.

The BMW PGA Championship in its various forms long has been regarded as the European’s Tour flagship event. It is designated as the European Tour’s “Premier Event” for World Golf Rankings. Until 2009 and the introduction of the Dubai World Championship it also was the tournament with the European Tour’s highest prize.

Colin Montgomerie, Bernhard Langer, Nick Faldo and Peter Alliss have the most wins, with three each.

And, while Arnold Palmer never won the PGA Championship to complete the Career Grand Slam, he DID win the European PGA Championship in 1975.

The name is somewhat confusing, for there is also a PGA Championship in the United States, and a BMW Championship on the PGA TOUR, which was formerly the Western Open.

A list of past BMW PGA Championship winners follows

YearWinnerScoreTo parMargin
2023Ryan Fox270-181 stroke
(shortened to
54 holes for the
death of Queen
Elizabeth II)
Shane Lowry199-171 stroke
2021Billy Horschel269-191 stroke
2020Tyrrell Hatton269-194 strokes
2019Danny Willett268-203
2018Francesco Molinari271-172
2017Alexander Noren277-112
2016Chris Wood279-91
2015An Byeong-hun267−216 strokes
2014Rory McIlroy274−141 stroke
2013Matteo Manassero278−10Playoff
2012Luke Donald (2)273−154 strokes
2011Luke Donald278−6Playoff
2010Simon Khan278−61 stroke
2009Paul Casey271−171 stroke
2008Miguel Ángel Jiménez277−11Playoff
2007Anders Hansen (2)280−8Playoff
2006David Howell271−175 strokes
2005Ángel Cabrera273−152 strokes
Volvo PGA
2004Scott Drummond269−192 strokes
2003Ignacio Garrido270−18Playoff
2002Anders Hansen269−195 strokes
2001Andrew Oldcorn272−162 strokes
2000Colin Montgomerie (3)271−173 strokes
1999Colin Montgomerie (2)270−185 strokes
1998Colin Montgomerie274−141 stroke
1997Ian Woosnam (2)275−132 strokes
1996Costantino Rocca274−142 strokes
1995Bernhard Langer (3)279−91 stroke
1994José María Olazábal271−171 stroke
1993Bernhard Langer (2)274−146 strokes
1992Tony Johnstone272−162 strokes
1991Seve Ballesteros (2)271−17Playoff
1990Mike Harwood271−171 stroke
1989Nick Faldo (4)272−162 strokes
1988Ian Woosnam274−142 strokes
Whyte & Mackay
PGA Championship
1987Bernhard Langer270−184 strokes
1986Rodger Davis281−7Playoff
1985Paul Way282−6Playoff
1984Howard Clark204 (54 holes)−122 strokes
Sun Alliance PGA Championship
1983Seve Ballesteros278−102 strokes
1982Tony Jacklin (2)284−4Playoff
1981Nick Faldo (3)274−104 strokes
1980Nick Faldo (2)28331 stroke
1979Vicente Fernández288E1 stroke
1978Nick Faldo278−107 strokes
1977Manuel Piñero28333 strokes
1976Neil Coles280EPlayoff
1975Arnold Palmer28552 strokes
1974Maurice Bembridge278−101 stroke
1973Peter Oosterhuis280−83 strokes
1972Tony Jacklin279−93 strokes
Schweppes Open
1970–71No tournament
1969Bernard Gallacher29351 stroke
1968 (o)David Talbot276-85 strokes
1967 (o)Malcolm Gregson275-133 strokes
Piccadilly PGA
1968 (c)Peter Townsend275-51 stroke
PGA Closed
1967 (c)Brian Huggett271-138 strokes
Schweppes PGA
1966Guy Wolstenholme278-24 strokes
1965Peter Alliss (3)286-6Playoff (1st hole)
1964Tony Grubb287-12 strokes
1963Peter Butler3062 strokes
1962Peter Alliss (2)2871 stroke
1961Brian Bamford266-113 strokes
PGA Close
1960Arnold Stickley247 (63 holes)2 strokes
1959Dai Rees2836 strokes
1958Harry Bradshaw2871 stroke
1957Peter Alliss2863 strokes
1956Charlie Ward282Playoff (36 holes)
1955Ken Bousfield2772 strokes
(c) & (o)  –
In 1967 and 1968,
both open and
were held.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.