Kingsmill Championship Winners and History – LPGA

Kingsmill Championship Winners

Kingsmill Championship Winners and History – LPGA

NOTE: The Kingsmill Championship now is the Pure Silk Championship. Click on the following link for updated information and Pure Silk Championship Winners.

The LPGA’s Kingsmill Championship has been held nearly annually 2003 at the Kingsmill Resort in Williamsburg, Virginia. The tournament missed the 2010 and 2011 seasons.

As the Michelob Ultra Open from 2004 to 2009 the tournament boasted one of the largest purses on the LPGA Tour, totaling $2.2 million, with $330,000 going to the winner. That money attracted a very competitive field. Unfortunately for the LPGA, Michelob and parent company Anheuser-Busch discontinued their sponsorship after 2009 most likely as a result of the 2008 recession and Anheuser-Bush’s purchase by InBev.

The loss of the Michelob Ultra Open was reflective of the LPGA’s decline from its apogee of 34 tournaments in 2008 to a 24 tournament nadir in 2011.

The hosting Kingsmill River Course is a par 71 at 6,340 yards. The PGA Tour hosted an event at Kingsmill from 1968 to 2002

Christie Kerr is the only multiple winner, with victories in 2005, 2009, and 2013. Annika Sörenstam set the event’s 72-hole scoring record in 2008 at 265, 19 strokes under par. Shin set the stop’s single round record in 2012, with a 62 (−9) in the first round.

The complete list of Kingsmill Championship winners follows:

YearChampionCountryWinning scoreTo par
Kingsmill Championship     
2017Lexi ThompsonUnited States65-65-69-65=264 -20
2016Ariya JutanugarnThailand69-69-65-67=270 -14
2015Minjee LeeAustralia68-67-69-65=269 -15
2014 Lizette Salas United States 67-68-65-71=271 -13
2013Cristie Kerr (3) United States66-71-66-69=272−12
2012Jiyai Shin South Korea62-68-69-69=268−16
2011No Tournament   
2010No Tournament    
Michelob ULTRA Open at Kingsmill    
2009Cristie Kerr (2) United States69-63-66-70=268−16
2008Annika Sörenstam Sweden64-66-69-66=265−19
2007Suzann Pettersen Norway66-72-68-61=274−10
2006Karrie Webb Australia66-68-68-70=270−14
2005Cristie Kerr United States68-68-68-72=276−8
2004Se Ri Pak South Korea70-71-69-65=275−9
Michelob Light Open at Kingsmill    
 2003Grace Park South Korea67-68-69-71=275−9

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading