Puerto Rico Open Winners and History

The Puerto Rico Open is the first PGA Tour Tournament held in Puerto Rico, and it has served as an alternate Tour event

The Puerto Rico Open’s inaugural year was 2008, when it was presented by Banco Popular. Since 2011, it has been presented by seepuertorico.com and played at the Coco Beach Golf and Country Club. The inaugural tournament was won by Greg Craft.

In 2018, in the wake of the destruction of Hurricane Maria, the Puerto Rico Open became an unofficial fundraising event, with a win by the team of George McNeill and Cheyenne Woods.

The Puerto Rico Open winner earns 300 FedEx Cup points, and 24 OWGR points (the WGC-Cadillac, played the same week, is worth 550/70-80)

As an alternate field event, the Puerto Rico Open generally does not attract big name players. It strikes me, though, as a good place for a journeyman player to make his name and secure his card.

YearPlayerScoreTo par
Puerto Rico Open
2022Ryan Brehm268-20
2021Branden Grace269-19
2020Viktor Hovland268-20
2019Martin Trainer275-15
2018 (Charity Event)George McNeill and Cheyenne WoodsNANA
2017D.A. Points268– 20
2016Tony Finau276-12 (PO)
2015Alex Čejka281-7 (PO)
2014Chesson Hadley267-19
2013Scott Bruwn268-20
2012George McNeill272-16
2011Michael Bradley272-16
Puerto Rico Open presented by Banco Popular
2010Derek Lamely269-19
2009Michael Bradley274-14
2008Greg Kraft274-14

1 thought on “Puerto Rico Open Winners and History”

  1. Any history on puerto rico open in 50s and 60s when a guy named Wally Holmes supposedly won but was disqualified for leaving scoring area ? Thanks


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading