Volvo China Open Winners and History


The Volvo China Open is part of the OneAsia Tour, and has been co-sanctioned by the European Tour off and on since 2004.

It was not, however, co-sanctioned by the Asian Tour from 2009 to 2017. This was the result of a dispute between between OneAsia and the Asian Tour, in which the China Open, Pine Valley Beijing Open, Korea Open and China Classic were removed from the Asian Tour schedule. Asian Tour players participating in those events were penalized, risking membership on the Asian Tour.

In 2020, 2021 and 2023, the China Open no longer was co-sanctioned by the European Tour and its field was severely limited by the COVID 19 pandemic.

In 2024, it is back on the European Tour schedule.

The whole thing is frankly a bit of a mess trying to keep track.

A list of past Volvo China Open winners follows:

2024Adrian OtaeguiSpain198-181 stroke
2023Sarit SuwannarutThailand269-196 strokes
2021Zhang JinChina280-81 strokes
2020Zhang HuilinChina269-199 strokes
2019Mikko KorhonenFinland268-20Playoff
2018Alexander BjorkSweden270-181 stroke
2017Alexander Lévy (2)France271-17Playoff
2016Li HaotongChina266 -223
2015Wu AshunChina279-91 stroke
2014Alexander LevyFrance269-194 strokes
2013Brett Rumford Australia272 -164 strokes
2012Branden Grace South Africa267 -213 strokes
2011Nicolas Colsaerts Belgium264 -244 strokes
2010Y.E. Yang South Korea273 -152 strokes
2009Scott Strange Australia280-81 stroke
2008Damien McGrane Ireland278 -109 strokes
2007Markus Brier Austria274 -105 strokes
2006Jeev Milkha Singh India278-101 stroke
2005Paul Casey England275-13playoff
2004Stephen Dodd Wales276 -123 strokes
2003Zhang Lian-wei China277-112 strokes
2002David Gleeson Australia272 -161 stroke
2001Charlie Wi South Korea272 -161 stroke
2000Simon Dyson England275 -131 stroke
1999Kyi Hla Han Burma273 -157 strokes
1998Ed Fryatt England269-192 strokes
1997Cheng Jun China280-85 strokes
1996Prayad Marksaeng Thailand269 -199 strokes
China Open
1995Raúl Fretes Paraguay277 -113 strokes

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

1 thought on “Volvo China Open Winners and History”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading