Joburg Open Winners And History

Joburg Open Winners

Joburg Open Winners and History

Co-sanctioned by the European Tour and the Sunshine Tour, the Joburg (Johannesburg) Open is one of four South African events on the European Tour’s schedule.

For the 2017-2018 European Tour Season, the Joburg Open moves to December. Since the 2016-2017 season event was played in February, this means that the Joburg Open was played twice in the 2017 calendar year.

On the European Tour calendar, the Joburg Open now is the fourth event of the season.

The current venue for the Joburg Open is the Randpark Golf Club. The original venue, the Royal Johannesburg and Kensington Golf Club is undergoing extensive upgrades. Randpark has three golf courses. The Joburg Open will be played on the Bushwillow and Firethorn courses at Randpark.

The Joburg Open record was set in 2013 by Richard Sterne, who shot a -27.  Charl Schwartzel and Richard Sterne have each win the event twice. As of 2017, eight of the eleven winners of the Joburg Open are from South Africa.

The current purse is 1.3 million Euros.

The 2017 edition was shortened to 54 holes due to weather.

Joburg Open photo joburgopen_zps97925b62.jpg

A full list of Joburg Open winners follows:

2023Dean Burmester262 (-18)2
2022Dan Bradbury263 (-21)3
2021Thriston Lawrence130 (-12) a4
2020Joachim Hansen265 (-19)2 strokes
2018 – 2019No Tournament
2017 (Dec)Shubhankar Sharma264 (-23)3 strokes
2017 (Feb.)Darren Fichardt200 (−15)1 stroke
2016Hayden Porteous269 (−18)2 strokes
2015Andy Sullivan270 (−17)2 strokes
2014George Coetzee268 (−19)3 strokes
2013Richard Sterne260 (−27)7 strokes
2012Branden Grace270 (−17)1 stroke
2011Charl Schwartzel265 (−19)4 strokes
2010Charl Schwartzel261 (−23)6 strokes
2009Anders Hansen269 (−15)1 stroke
2008Richard Sterne271 (−13)Playoff
2007Ariel Cañete266 (−19)2 strokes
a = Tournament shortened to 36 holes due to weather and impending COVID 19 travel restrictions

2 thoughts on “Joburg Open Winners And History”

  1. Branden Grace looks in great shape to successfully defend this title. Grace has completed three consecutive top 10 finishes on the European tour so far in 2013.

    There’s no reason why he can’t win this tournament again.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading