Magical Kenya Open Winners and History

Magical Kenya Open Winners and History

Magical Kenya Open Winners and History

In 2019, the Kenya Open became the newest event on the European Tour. It is not, however, a new event. The Kenya Open has been that country’s national open since 1967. Since 1991, it has been a part of the European Tours’ Challenge Tour schedule.

The 2019 edition will be played at the Karen CC opposite the PGA TOUR’S Players Championship.

Among the notable winners of the Kenya Open are Edoardo Molinari, Trevor Immelman, Ian Woosnam, Seve Ballesteros and Jose Maria Canizares.

Since 2019, the tournament has been called the Magical Kenya Open presented by Absa. Magical Kenya is that country’s tourism board. Absa is an African bank.

A complete list of Kenya Open Winners and History Follows:

YearWinnerScoreTo parMargin
Magical Kenya Open(European Tour)
2023Jorge Campillo266-182 strokes
2022Ashun Wu268-164 strokes
2021Justin Harding263-212 stroke
2020Cancelled: COVID
2019Guido Migliozzi268−161 stroke
Barclays Kenya Open (Challenge Tour)
2018Lorenzo Gagli273−11Playoff
2017 Aaron Rai267−173 strokes
2016Sebastian Söderberg270−183 strokes
2015Haydn Porteous271−17Playoff
2014Jake Roos278−101 stroke
2013Jordi García Pinto272−121 stroke
2012Seve Benson274−10Playoff
2011Michiel Bothma270−142 strokes
Kenya Open (Challenage Tour)
2010Robert Dinwiddie272−123 strokes
Tusker Kenya Open (Challenge Tour)
2009Gary Boyd271−134 strokes
2008 Iain Pyman272−123 strokes
2007Edoardo Molinari274−61 stroke
2006Johan Axgren270−104 strokes
2005Daniel Vancsik272−83 strokes
Kenya Open(Challenge Tour)
2004Marc Cayeux270−10Playoff
2003No tournament
Sameer Kenya Open (Challenge Tour)
2002Lee S. James265−193 strokes
Tusker Kenya Open(Challenge Tour)
2001Ashley Roestoff271−13Playoff
2000Trevor Immelman270−144 strokes
1999Maarten Lafeber265−193 strokes
1998Ricardo González272−12Playoff
Lonrho Kenya Open(Challenge Tour)
1997Jorge Berendt268−164 strokes
Kenya Open(Challenge Tour)
1996Mike Miller272−12Playoff
1995James Lee265−195 strokes
1994Paul Carman276−8Playoff
1993Craig Maltman276−8Playoff
Standard Chartered Kenya Open(Challenge  Tour)
1992André Bossert272−121 stroke
1991Jeremy Robinson269−155 strokes
555 Kenya Open(Safari Tour)
1990Christy O’Connor Jnr271−132 strokes
1989David Jones271−133 strokes
1988Chris Platts271−131 stroke
1987Carl Mason275−9Playoff
1986Ian Woosnam273−11Playoff
1985Garry Harvey278−61 stroke
1984José María Cañizares277−7Playoff
Benson & Hedges Kenya Open(Safari Tour)
1983Ken Brown274−101 stroke
1982 Eamonn Darcy274−101 stroke
1981Brian Barnes274−101 stroke
1980Brian Waites271−131 stroke
1979Maurice Bembridge (3)271−13Playoff
Kenya Open
1978Seve Ballesteros274−101 stroke
1977 Liam Higgins283−11 stroke
1976No tournament
1975Gary Smith276−12Playoff
1974David Jagger274−141 stroke
1973 Jan Dorrestein (2)276−121 stroke
1972David Llewellyn279−92 strokes
1971Ernie Jones283−5Playoff
1970Jan Dorrestein273−1514 strokes
1969Maurice Bembridge (2)279−95 strokes
1968 Maurice Bembridge28912 strokes
1967Guy Wolstenholme279−94 strokes

Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: