Mexico Open Winners and History

Mexico Open Winners and History

Although the Mexico Open is new on the PGA TOUR in 2022, it has been played since 1944.

The tournament had previously been sanctioned by the PGA TOUR Latinoamerica, the WEB.Com tour, the Nationwide Tour and the Tour de Las Americas.

All three North American national opens are now PGA TOUR sanctioned.

Over the years, Mexico Open winners have included notable players such as Ben Crenshaw, David Graham, Billy Casper, Lee Trevino, Tony Lema, Jonny Palmer, Bobby Locke, Al Espinosa and Roberto De Vicenzo.

The tournament is played at the Vidanta Vallarta in Vallarta, Mexico.

The tournament’s 2022 official name is the Mexico Open at Vidanta. Vidanta is a luxury resort property.

A list of Mexico Open Winners follows:

YearTour(s)WinnerScoreTo parMargin of
2024PGATJake Knapp265-192 strokes
2023PGATTony Finau260-243 strokes
2022PGATJon Rahm267-171 stroke
2021PTLAÁlvaro Ortiz265−233 strokes
2020PTLANo Tournament: Covid 
2019PTLA Drew Nesbitt263−172 strokes
2018PTLA Austin Smotherman262−184 strokes
2017 No Tournament
2016PTLA Sebastián Vázquez268−16Playoff
2015PTLA Justin Hueber265−231 stroke
2014PTLA Óscar David Álvarez271−171 stroke
2013PTLA Ted Purdy281−71 stroke
2012WEB Lee Williams274−141 stroke
2011NWT Erik Compton271−172 strokes
2010NWT Jamie Lovemark276−12Playoff
2009NWT Troy Merritt273−15Playoff
2008NWT Jarrod Lyle267−174 strokes
2007 No Tournament
2006CHA, TLA Fabrizio Zanotti275−91 stroke
2005CHA, TLA Antonio Maldonado275−91 stroke
2004CHA, TLA Rafael Gómez270−142 strokes
2003TLA Eduardo Herrera278−10
2002 Pablo Fernández273−111 stroke
2001 No Tournament
2000 Esteban Toledo271
1999 Stewart Cink (2)271
1998 Eduardo Romero269
1997 Frank Nobilo273
1996 Stewart Cink272
1995 John Cook273
1994 Chris Perry274
1993 Fred Funk268
1992 Tom Sieckmann268
1991 Jay Haas277
1990 Bob Lohr269−194 strokes
1985 – 1989 No Tournament
1984 Danny Mijovic274
1983 Tommy Armour III280
1981 Ben Crenshaw273
1980 David Graham279
1978 – 1979 No Tournament
1977 Billy Casper274−63 strokes
1976 Ernesto Pérez Acosta (2)273
1975 Lee Trevino (2)275
1974 Ed Byman280
1973 Lee Trevino281
1972 No Tournament
1971 Ángel Gallardo275
1970 Ernesto Pérez Acosta280
1967 – 1969 No Tournament
1966 Bob McCallister278
1965 Homero Blancas284
1964 Art Wall Jr.276
1963 Al Balding279
1962 Tony Lema (2)281
1961 Tony Lema280
1960 Howie Johnson273
1959 Ángel Miguel273
1958 Antonio Cerdá279
1957 Bob Rosburg272
1956 Billy Maxwell264
1955 Roberto De Vicenzo (3)271
1954 Johnny Palmer286
1953 Roberto De Vicenzo (2)267
1952 Bobby Locke275
1951 Roberto De Vicenzo267
1950 Tony Holguin (2)280
1949 Tony Holguin200
1948 No Tournament
1947 Al Espinosa (4)292
1946 Al Espinosa (3)286
1945 Al Espinosa (2)290
1944 Al Espinosa281

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading