PGA Championship Winners

PGA Championship Winners

PGA Championship Winners

The PGA Championship extends back to 1916. It was a match play event until 1958.

Jim Barnes was the first PGA Championship winner, and repeated a year later. Walter Hagen, however, dominated the early years,  winning five of the first ten.

Dow Finsterwald won the first of the stroke play championships.

Below is a list of the past PGA Championship Winners

PGA Championship Winners

YearWinnerCourseScoresTo Par or Match Score
2024Xander SchauffeleValhalla62-68-68-65 = 263-21
2023Brooks Koepka (3)Oak Hill72-66-66-67 = 271-9
2022Justin ThomasSouthern Hills67-67-74-67=275Playoff
2021Phil Mickelson (2)Kiawah Ocean Course70-69-70-73=282-6
2020Colin MorikawaHarding Park, CA69-69-65-64= 267-13
2019Brooks KoepkaBethpage Black, NY63-65-70-74=272-8
2018Brooks KoepkaBellerive, MO69-63-66-66=264-14
2017Justin ThomasQuail Hollow, NC73-66-69-68=276 -16
2016Jimmy WalkerBaltusrol, NJ65-66-68-67=266 -14
2015Jason DayWhistling Straits, WI68-67-66-67=268 -20
2014Rory McIlroyValhalla, KY66-67-67-68=268 -16
2013Jason DufnerOak Hill, NY68-63-71-68=270 -10
2012Rory McIlroyKiawah Island, SC67-75-67-66=275 -13
2011Keegan BradleyAtlanta Athletic Club71-64-69-68=272-8
2010Martin KaymerWhistling Straits, Wisconsin72-68-67-70=277-11
2009Yang Yong-eunHazeltine National Golf Club73-70-67-70=280-8
2008Pádraig HarringtonOakland Hills Country Club,71-74-66-66=277-3
2007Tiger Woods (4)Southern Hills Country Club71-63-69-69=272-8
2006Tiger Woods (3)Medinah CC69-68-65-68=270-18
2005Phil MickelsonBaltusrol Golf Club67-65-72-72=276-4
2004Vijay SinghWhistling Straits67-68-69-76-280-8
2003Shaun MicheelOak Hill CC69-68-69-70-276-4
2002Rich BeemHazeltine Nat’l GC72-66-72-68-278-10
2001David TomsAtlanta Athl. Club66-65-65-69-265-15
2000Tiger WoodsValhalla GC66-67-70-67-270-18
1999Tiger WoodsMedinah CC70-67-68-72-277-11
1998Vijay SinghSahalee GC70-66-67-68-271-9
1997Davis Love IIIWinged Foot66-71-66-66-269-11
1996Mark BrooksValhalla GC68-70-69-70-277-11
1995Steve ElkingtonRiviera CC68-67-68-64-267-17
1994Nick PriceSouthern Hills CC67-65-70-67-269-11
1993Paul AzingerInverness Club69-66-69-68-272-12
1992Nick PriceBellerive CC70-70-68-70-278-6
1991John DalyCrooked Stick GC69-67-69-71-276-12
1990Wayne GradyShoal Creek CC72-67-72-71-282-6
1989Payne StewartKemper Lakes GC74-66-69-67-276-12
1988Jeff SlumanOak Tree GC69-70-68-65-272-12
1987Larry NelsonPGA National70-72-73-72-287-1
1986Bob TwayInverness Club72-70-64-70-276-8
1985Hubert GreenCherry Hills CC67-69-70-72-278-10
1984Lee TrevinoShoal Creek CC69-68-67-69-273-15
1983Hal SuttonRiviera CC65-66-72-71-274-10
1982Raymond FloydSouthern Hills CC63-69-68-72-272-8
1981Larry NelsonAtlanta Athl. Club70-66-66-71-273-7
1980Jack NicklausOak Hill CC70-69-66-69-274-6
1979David GrahamOakland Hills GC69-68-70-65-272-8
1978John MahaffeyOakmont CC75-67-68-66-276-8
1977Lanny WadkinsPebble Beach GL69-71-72-70-282-3
1976Dave StocktonCongressional CC70-72-69-70-281+1
1975Jack NicklausFirestone CC70-68-67-71-276-4
1974Lee TrevinoTanglewood GC73-66-68-69-276-4
1973Jack NicklausCanterbury GC72-68-68-69-277-7
1972Gary PlayerOakland Hills CC71-71-67-72-281+1
1971Jack NicklausPGA National GC69-69-70-73-281-7
1970Dave StocktonSouthern Hills CC70-70-66-73-279-1
1969Raymond FloydNCR CC69-66-67-74-276-8
1968Julius BorosPecan Valley CC71-71-70-69-281+1
1967Don JanuaryColumbine CC71-72-70-68-281-7
1966Al GeibergerFirestone CC68-72-68-72-280E
1965Dave MarrLaurel Valley CC70-69-70-71-280-4
1964Bobby NicholsColumbus CC64-71-69-67-271-9
1963Jack NicklausDallas Athl. Club69-73-69-68-279-5
1962Gary PlayerAronimink GC72-67-69-70-278-2
1961Jerry BarberOlympia Fields CC69-67-71-70-277-3
1960Jay HebertFirestone CC72-67-72-70-281+1
1959Bob RosburgMinneapolis GC71-72-68-66-277-3
1958Dow FinsterwaldLlanerch CC67-72-70-67-276-14
1957Lionel HebertMiami Valley CCd. Dow Finsterwald2 & 1
1956Jack Burke Jr.Blue Hill CCd. Ted Kroll3 & 2
1955Doug FordMeadowbrook CCd. Cary Middlecoff4 & 3
1954Chick HarbertKeller GCd. Walter Burkemo4 & 3
1953Walter BurkemoBirmingham CCd. Felice Torza2 & 1
1952Jim TurnesaBig Spring CCd. Chick Harbert1-up
1951Sam SneadOakmont CCd. Walter Burkemo7 & 6
1950Chandler HarperScioto CCd. Henry Williams Jr.4 & 3
1949Sam SneadHermitage CCd. Johnny Palmer3 & 2
1948Ben HoganNorwood Hills CCd. Mike Turnesa2 & 1
1947Jim FerrierPlum Hollow GCd. Chick Harbert2 & 1
1946Ben HoganPortland GCEd Oliver6 & 4
1945Byron NelsonMoraine CCd. Sam Byrd4 & 3
1944Bob HamiltonManito G. & CCd. Byron Nelson1-up
1943No Championship PlayedDue to WWII 
1942Sam SneadSeaview CCJim Turnesa2 & 1
1941Vic GhezziCherry Hills CCd. Byron Nelson38 ho.
1940Byron NelsonHershey CCd. Sam Snead1-up
1939Henry PicardPomonok CCd. Byron Nelson37 ho.
1938Paul RunyanShawnee CCd. Sam Snead8 & 7
1937Denny ShutePittsburgh F.C.d. Harold McSpaden37 ho.
1936Denny ShutePinehurst CCd. Jimmy Thomson3 & 2
1935Johnny RevoltaTwin Hills CCd. Tommy Armour5 & 4
1934Paul RunyanPark CCd. Craig Wood38 ho.
1933Gene SarazenBlue Mound CCd. Willie Goggin5 & 4
1932Olin DutraKeller GCd. Frank Walsh4 & 3
1931Tom CreavyWannamoisett CCd. Denny Shute2 & 1
1930Tommy ArmourFresh Meadows CCd. Gene Sarazen1-up
1929Leo DiegelHillcrest CCd. Johnny Farrell6 & 4
1928Leo DiegelFive Farms CCd. Al Espinosa6 & 5
1927Walter HagenCedar Crest CCd. Joe Turnesa1-up
1926Walter HagenSalisbury G. L.d. Leo Diegel5 & 3
1925Walter HagenOlympia Fields CCd. William Mehlhorn6 & 5
1924Walter HagenFrench Lick Spgs.d. James M. Barnes2-up
1923Gene SarazenPelham CCd. Walter Hagen38 ho.
1922Gene SarazenOakmont CCd. Emmet French4 & 3
1921Walter HagenInwood CCd. James M. Barnes3 & 2
1920Jock HutchisonFlossmoor CCd. J. Douglas Edgar1-up
1919James M. BarnesEngineers CCd. Fred McLeod6 & 5
1917-18No Championships PlayedDue to WWI 
1916James M. BarnesSiwanoy CCd. Jock Hutchison1-up
PGA Championship Winners
PGA Championship Winners

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

5 thoughts on “PGA Championship Winners”

  1. This morning on Sports Center Van Pelt called Tigers 65 @ Firestone a ” Sam Snead “. Why?
          Thanks, Lee

  2. I have picked Brandt Snedeker all year to win his first major and he continues to be thereabouts near the leaderboard.

    Perhaps the US PGA is his chance to break through?


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading