The Heritage Past Winners and History


First played in 1969, the Heritage is one of just five of the Tour’s Invitationals. That means that it has a reduced field of 132 players (as opposed to the usual 156). There is no Monday qualifier, and the tournament does not have to fill its field according the the Priority Ranking Field.

Throughout its history, the site for The Heritage has Pete Dye’s now-famous Harbor Town Golf Links, with the exception of 1972, when the first two rounds were played at both the Harbor Town Golf Links and the Ocean Course at Sea Pines.

The tournament is sponsored by the Royal Bank of Canada for 2012. It had no sponsor in 2011. From 1987 to 2010, it was sponsored by either MCI (under either the MCI or WorldCom name), and by Verizon. Prior to that, the tournament was known variously as The Heritage Classic, The Sea Pines Heritage Classic, and the Sea Pines Heritage.

The Tournament’s position on the Tour schedule has changed quite a bit. From 1968 to 1972, it was played in November. In 1973, September. From 1974 to 1982, it was played two weeks before the Masters; and from 1983 to 2010, it usually was one week after the Masters. In 2011, it’s positioned two weeks after the Masters. Harbortown is a relatively short drive from Augusta, and the date following the Masters apparently has been popular for the players.

Tournament winners receive a red plaid jacket. Davis Love, III has won the tournament five times.

A list of past winners follows:

YearPlayerCountryScoreTo par1st Prize ($)Purse ($)
The RBC Heritage
2013Graeme McDowellNorthern Ireland275-91,044,0005,800,000
2012Carl PettersonSweden270-141,026,0005,700,000
2011Brandt SnedekerUnited States272-121,026,0005,700,000
Verizon Heritage
2010Jim Furyk United States271-131,026,0005,700,000
2009Brian Gay United States264-201,026,0005,700,000
2008Boo Weekley United States269-15990,0005,500,000
2007Boo Weekley United States270-14972,0005,400,000
2006Aaron Baddeley Australia269-15954,0005,300,000
MCI Heritage
2005Peter Lonard Australia277-7936,0005,200,000
2004Stewart Cink United States274-10864,0004,800,000
2003Davis Love III United States271-13810,0004,500,000
WorldCom Classic – The Heritage of Golf
2002Justin Leonard United States270-14720,0004,000,000
2001José Cóceres Argentina273-11630,0003,500,000
MCI Classic
2000Stewart Cink United States270-14540,0003,000,000
1999Glen Day United States274-10450,0002,500,000
1998Davis Love III United States266-18342,0001,900,000
1997Nick Price Zimbabwe269-15270,0001,500,000
1996Loren Roberts United States265-19252,0001,400,000
1995Bob Tway United States275-9234,0001,300,000
MCI Heritage Golf Classic
1994Hale Irwin United States266-18225,0001,250,000
1993David Edwards United States273-11202,5001,125,000
1992Davis Love III United States269-15180,0001,000,000
1991Davis Love III United States271-13180,0001,000,000
1990Payne Stewart United States276-8180,0001,000,000
1989Payne Stewart United States268-16144,000800,000
1988Greg Norman Australia271-13126,000700,000
1987Davis Love III United States271-13117,000650,000
Sea Pines Heritage
1986Fuzzy Zoeller United States276-881,000450,000
1985Bernhard Langer West Germany273-1172,000400,000
1984Nick Faldo England270-1472,000400,000
1983Fuzzy Zoeller United States275-963,000350,000
1982Tom Watson United States280-454,000300,000
1981Bill Rogers United States278-654,000300,000
1980Doug Tewell United States280-454,000300,000
Sea Pines Heritage Classic
1979Tom Watson United States270-1454,000300,000
Heritage Classic
1978Hubert Green United States277-745,000225,000
1977Graham Marsh Australia273-1145,000225,000
Sea Pines Heritage Classic
1976Hubert Green United States274-1043,000215,000
1975Jack Nicklaus United States271-1340,000200,000
1974Johnny Miller United States276-840,000200,000
1973Hale Irwin United States272-1230,000150,000
1972Johnny Miller United States281-425,000125,000
1971Hale Irwin United States279-522,000110,000
Heritage Golf Classic
1970Bob Goalby United States280-420,000100,000
1969Arnold Palmer United States283-120,000100,000

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

1 thought on “The Heritage Past Winners and History”

  1. A pretty good field considering it’s straight after a major championship.

    I think Brandt Snedeker is a good chance of putting his last US Masters behind him and playing well. Same for Matt Kuchar, Jim Furyk and Tim Clark.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading