The Northern Trust Winners and History

Northern Trust Winners

The Northern Trust Winners and History

The Northern Trust was the first leg of the PGA Tour’s FedEx Cup Playoff Series. It is now known as the Fedex St. Jude Championship.

It is not to be confused with the Northern Trust Open, which was the Los Angeles Open and now is the Genesis Open.

The Northern Trust was previously known as The Barclays. Held this year at Liberty National Golf Club, the tournament is open to the top 125 FedEx Cup points leaders following the Wyndham Championship the previous week. Following this tournament, the new points are allocated (five times that of a regular tournament) and the new top 100 will go on to round two at the Deutsche Bank Championship.

The Northern Trust began in 1967 as the Westchester Classic. It was held at the Westchester Country Club in Rye, New York from 1967 to 2007. The site was so well known that even as the sponsors changed, it was just known as “The Westchester.”

The Westchester’s traditional spot was either the week before (even years) or the week after (odd years) the US Open. It was relocated on the calendar in 2007 in the great FedEx Cup shakeup. That year, it became the first leg of the PGA TOUR’s playoffs.

In 2011, The Northern Trust was shortened to 54 holes ahead of Hurricane Irene. The tournament ended on Saturday, just hours before the storm hit.

Vijay Singh has won the event four times.

A list of Northern Trust Winners follows:

YearPlayerScoreTo parMargin
The Northern Trust
2021Tony Finau264-20Playoff
2020Dustin Johnson (3)254-3011 strokes
2019Patrick Reed (2)268-161 stroke
2018Bryson DeChambeau266-184 Strokes
2017Dustin Johnson267-13Playoff
The Barclays
2016Patrick Reed275-91 stroke
2015Jason Day261-196 strokes
2014Hunter Mahan270-142 strokes
2013Adam Scott273-111 stroke
2012Nick Watney274-103 strokes
2011Dustin Johnson194 (54 holes)-192 strokes
2010Matt Kuchar272-12Playoff
2009Heath Slocum275-91 stroke
2008Vijay Singh (4)276-8Playoff
2007Steve Stricker268-162 strokes
Barclays Classic
2006Vijay Singh (3)274-102 strokes
2005Pádraig Harrington274-101 stroke
Buick Classic
2004Sergio García (2)272-12Playoff
2003Jonathan Kaye271-13Playoff
2002Chris Smith272-122 strokes
2001Sergio García268-163 strokes
2000Dennis Paulson276-8Playoff
1999Duffy Waldorf276-8Playoff
1998J. P. Hayes201 (54 holes)-12Playoff
1997Ernie Els (2)268-162 strokes
1996Ernie Els271-138 strokes
1995Vijay Singh (2)278-6Playoff
1994Lee Janzen268-163 strokes
1993Vijay Singh280-4Playoff
1992David Frost268-168 strokes
1991Billy Andrade273-112 strokes
1990Hale Irwin269-152 strokes
Manufacturers Hanover Westchester Classic
1989Wayne Grady277-7Playoff
1988Seve Ballesteros (2)276-8Playoff
1987J. C. Snead276-8Playoff
1986Bob Tway272-121 stroke
1985Roger Maltbie275-9Playoff
1984Scott Simpson269-155 strokes
1983Seve Ballesteros276-82 strokes
1982Bob Gilder261-195 strokes
1981Raymond Floyd275-91 stroke
1980Curtis Strange273-112 strokes
1979Jack Renner277-71 stroke
American Express Westchester Classic
1978Lee Elder274-101 stroke
1977Andy North272-122 strokes
1976David Graham272-123 strokes
Westchester Classic
1975Gene Littler271-17Playoff
1974Johnny Miller269-192 strokes
1973Bobby Nichols272-16Playoff
1972Jack Nicklaus (2)270-183 strokes
1971Arnold Palmer270-185 strokes
1970Bruce Crampton273-151 stroke
1969Frank Beard275-131 stroke
1968Julius Boros272-161 stroke
1967Jack Nicklaus272-161 stroke

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading