ZoZo Championship Winners and History

ZoZo Championship Winners and History

ZoZo Championship Winners and History

In the 2019 – 2020 PGA TOUR season, the Zozo Championship became the first-ever sanctioned PGA TOUR event in Japan. The deal lasts until 2025.

In 2020, the Zozo Championship has been temporarily relocated to Sherwood Country Club in California, due to COVID-19 travel restrictions.

The ZOZO Championship is a limited field event, with just 78 players. These include:

  • Top 60 available PGA Tour players from the previous season’s FedEx Cup standings.
  • Top 7 players in the current season Japan Golf Tour money list through the Bridgestone Open.
  • Top 3 players in the Bridgestone Open.
  • 8 sponsor exemptions.

The 2019 tournament was played at the Accordia Golf Narashino Country Club in Japan. The club is a par-70 that stretches to just over 7,000 yards.

With a purse of $9.75 million, the ZoZo Championship is the most lucrative in Japanese golf history.

Sponsor ZOZO, is Japan’s largest online fashion website, operating as ZOZOTOWN.

The PGA TOUR’S Asian swing now includes the CJ CUP @ Nine Bridges, the WGC-HSBC Champions in China and the ZOZO Championsip. The CIMB Classic in Malaysia is no longer on the PGA TOUR schedule.

Japan will host the 2020 Olympics, which includes golf.

A list of ZOZO Championship winners follows

YearWinnerScoreTo parMargin of
2021Hideki Matsuyama265-155 strokesAccordia Golf Narashino, CC, japan
2020Patrick Cantlay265-231 strokeSherwood CC, U.S.
2019 Tiger Woods261−193 strokesNarashino CC, Japan
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: